April Showers Review

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

*SYNOPSIS* 

What happens when your head and your heart pull you in completely opposite directions?

April Adams is about to find out the hard way.

When April enrols at Manchester University, it feels like a whole new life. New city, new house, new friends…new crush.

Isaac Sharpe is the hottest guy on campus – with an even hotter reputation. After a chance meeting, April quickly finds herself wrapped up in all that he is. But what if all that he is isn’t what it seems?

Caught up in a battle between what she wants and what she thinks she needs, April meets Lukas Roberts. Lukas is the security blanket that she craves so desperately and she finds solace in their friendship. But what happens when she finds more than she bargained for?

April has always been a big believer of fate, but will she learn that she’s in control of her own destiny before it’s too late?

Join April as she embarks on a life changing journey of love and loss, which will have you laughing and crying until the very end.

add-to-goodreads-button31

********ARC received in exchange for an honest review********

4.5 Stars

“Sometimes it’s impossible to stop ourselves from falling.” – Isaac.

Twenty year old April Adams is just starting her first year at Manchester University when she literally falls at the feet of a sexy stranger. The attraction is immediate but their meeting is brief as April has to rush to class which is where she meets the good looking, boy-next-door Lukas Roberts, who she instantly bonds with and agrees to meet him at a party later that night. It’s at that party where she comes face to face with the sexy stranger from that morning – Isaac Sharpe.

Embarrassment was quickly replaced with a completely different emotion all together when I heard him say the words I knew I was never going to forget, “I’m going to marry that girl one day.”

But the very next day, April’s hopes come showering down around her when she finds out that Isaac isn’t who she thought he was and realises they cannot start seeing each other like she wanted. Then one drunken night, her friendship with Lukas turns in to more. Her relationship with him is slow and easy, just like she wants. But sometimes, what you want isn’t always what you need.

“Love isn’t safe. Love is crazy and scary and unpredictable. You can’t control it and you sure as hell can’t fight it. It’s one of life’s greatest risks…But it’s also one of life’s greatest gifts.” – Katie.

The main and secondary characters were all great and I could see myself making friends with them if I was with them at Uni. April was strong and witty. I loved the relationships and conversations between April and Isaac, and April and Lukas. Book Boy one, Isaac, was very sexy and confident but has more to him than what meets the eye. He has a past that made my heart break for him and had me shedding a few tears. Then we have Book Boy two, Lukas. (That’s right, two Book Boys for the price of one – brownie points for Ms. Perrin) I loved Lukas. He was funny, thoughtful and caring, but then he reveals he’s been hiding a pretty big secret from April, and let’s just say, if it was me, my knee would be intimately acquainted with his junk. Katie – April’s BFF from home – was comedy gold, and even though I thought Hollie (in no way inspired by me) was a total bitch to start with, even she slightly redeemed herself by the end.

“What else have you got in your bag of tricks?” “The rest is naughty…” his accent curled around the last word, making it sound naughty in itself. “How so?” “You know…whips, chains, handcuffs. Like I said, the essentials.” – Lukas.

I loved this book. It was well thought out and written. Both Isaac and Lukas had a secret that created major twists that left me unable to put the book down so I could find out how the story developed. The dialogue was fantastic! Sarcasm is my favourite type of humour and April Showers is full of sarcastic comments that had me laughing from beginning to end. It was captivating, funny, sweet, realistic, and a truly brilliant debut Novel with an ending that left me desperate for book two. Karli Perrin is definitely an Author to look out for.

And because there were so many, here are some of my favourite quotes…

“You’re way too sweet, it’s actually pretty sickly. You should work on toning it down a notch or two before someone throws up on you.”- Isaac to April.

“You’re right. It’s my fault I was innocently standing here, minding my own business when you tried to rugby tackle me.”- Isaac to April.

“What a beautiful name, it suits you.” “It should do, it’s been my name for 20 years.”- Isaac and April.

“At least sleep with him before you get rid.”- Katie Katie to April.

“Well thank you, you know how to treat a lady right.” He looked around. “There’s a lady here?” I scowled at him, “I take that back.”- April and Lukas.

“Yes you are, I can prove it to you. Take me to the Library and we’ll look up frigid in the Dictionary, it’ll have a picture of you.”- Katie to April.

Buying Links .COM  .CO.UK

Leave a Reply

