The Rocker That Holds Me Review

17285983

*SYNOPSIS*

Touring with four rockers is the thing of dreams…

At least that is what people tell me. To me those four rockers are my family. They have watched over me from the time I was five years old. Protecting me from my mother and her drunken, drug addict rages. When they made it big they still watched over me. And when my monster of a mother died they took over as my guardians.

In the six years since that happened I have watched over the four men that
mean everything to me. I take care of them just as they once took care of me. I handle all the dirty work behind the scenes of a rockers life. It isn’t always pretty. At times it came be damn near disgusting, especially when I have to get rid of their one night stands. Ugh!

Taking care of them doesn’t bother me though. I mean it’s not like I’m in love with one of them. That would be crazy. Falling for a rocker is NOT smart.

Okay, so I’m not smart. I love my guys, and one of them kind of holds my heart in his big old rocker hand. But I’m dealing. I’ve been able to keep it my little secret for years now.
I’m not, however, dealing with this bug that I seem to have caught. It scares the hell out of me. I hate doctors, but I’m suddenly more worried about finding out what is wrong with me than what the doctor might do to me.

When I get my test results back my life will never be the same again…

***Because of language and adult situations not suitable for readers under 17***

add-to-goodreads-button31

5 Stars

I had this book on my Kindle for quite a while, and when I finally got around to reading it one afternoon, I couldn’t believe I hadn’t read it sooner. It’s only a short story that took me just a few hours to read one dreary weekend but I was sucked in from the very first page and the story is so well developed that I didn’t feel like it was missing anything and in fact I loved that it was short because as a reviewer, sometimes you just need that from a book.

Living on a trailer park at the age of 5, Ember was repeatedly abused by her drug addict Mother, and her guardian angels came in the form of four 17 year old rockers named Nik, Jesse, and twins Drake and Shane. They would tend to her cuts and bruises and make sure she was fed and didn’t go hungry. It was so nice to see teenage boys putting a little girl before everything else in their lives and the fact they are heavy metal rockers just seemed to make it that much sweeter. And when years later,the boys hit the big time with their band Demons Wings, they sent her money, presents, and a phone to make sure she could always reach them when she needed. And when the band received a call from a 15 year old Emmie, saying that her Mother had died, they dropped everything and went to claim her as their own. From that momment on, Emmie spent her life touring with Demons Wings and – like they had done for her – tending to their every need.

I loved Emmie. I thought she was a great character and is without a doubt my favourite book girl of all time. She was feisty, she spoke her mind, she had no filter, she did everything possible to take care of her boys, and I thought – considering everything she had been through – she was incredibly strong and I really admired her. The guys of Demons Wings were all a mix of typical rock stars – drinking, partying, and random women in their beds – and also, perfect, caring, loving guys. When it came to Emmie, they really did have huge hearts.

The Rocker That Holds Me is a great book and I can’t recommend it enough. All the guys have troubled pasts which will be explored in future books in the series and I can’t wait for them so I can find out more about them and hopefully see them get their own HEAs that they so rightfully deserve. Terri Anne has put so much in to these 99 pages, from Emmie’s painful childhood, the boys taking care of her, her then in return taking care of them, her love for Nik, the results of her illness and how it changes all of their lives was a twist that I was not expecting in the slightest, and then the perfect ending that had me shedding a few happy tears. The Rocker That Holds Me gives you a Rock ‘n’ Roll family that you won’t want to let go of. Buy it, read it, love it, and then do it all over again with Jesse’s story, in The Rocker That Savors Me. You won’t regret it.

Buying Links Amazon.com Amazon.co.uk

Leave a Reply

