Losing Hope Review

 

17340050

*SYNOPSIS*

In the follow-up to Colleen Hoover’s #1 New York Times bestseller Hopeless, the charming and irresistible Dean Holder tells the passionate story that has melted thousands of hearts.

In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.

Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…

Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs.

add-to-goodreads-button31

****ARC received from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review****

5+ Stars

Dear Colleen Hoover,

I know I’m supposed to write a review about Losing Hope but the second I finished it, I just needed to email you and tell you all the things that were flying through my mind and everything you had me feeling whilst reading this book, so then I thought,hey! Why not kill two birds with one stone? So here is my review of Losing Hope, disguised as a letter to you.

First off I’m going to apologize in advance for if I overuse the word “WOW” because it’s pretty much the only word I can think of to sum up this book, but even that doesn’t do it justice.
Secondly, 5 stars? Are you for real? There needs to be a whole new rating named “CoHo” because once again you have outdone yourself and 5 measly stars would be an insult to Holder’s POV.

Just…wow! I don’t think anyone thought you could create a story that had more emotion packed in to the pages than that of Hopeless. I mean, come on! The subject matter was so heavy but you handled it with such care and attention that it was as if you had lived through it yourself and you made the readers feel like it was their life also. But Losing Hope was just wow!!(I told you I would overuse that word) I cried. A lot! 4% 5% 6% and repeatedly throughout the book. What Hope had to suffer through was traumatic enough, but then seeing it all through Holder’s eyes and the domino effect it had on his life was (I’m not sure now whether I should use this word but…) devastating.

There’s honesty not a single bad thing to say about this book. I loved everything!! The journal entries WRECKED me! They were so powerful that nearly all of them had me in tears and even though they were bound to be tough to read, there were times that did have me laughing and wondering if I was a bad person for laughing through something so emotional. But Holder can be a funny guy at times so don’t judge me 😉

Watching him with Sky as he first saw her and had his suspicions and then witnessing him fall in love with her one character trait at a time and just experiencing everything through his eyes as things started to fall in to place was perfect! Other authors that have retold their books from another characters POV made it so it was just a carbon copy of the original and quite frankly it’s boring! But when you do it, it’s like it’s a completely different story. You don’t just change the female main character’s thoughts for the male main character’s thoughts. You give us completely new scenes that leaves the readers gripped and desperate to see what happens next. And as for what I was feeling, I had all the feels!! You sure know how to put someone through their emotions.

Your words are so incredibly powerful and inspiring, and even though you get told on more than likely a daily basis, I really don’t think you truly understand the full affect your books have on people’s lives. People who have dealt with loss or experienced horrific things, you help them to realize that it’s ok to feel how they do, and you give them hope of something more. So thank you, from myself, those that feel lost, and every single other person you have touched with your talent for story telling.

I hope and pray with all my heart that you never lose your passion for writing because you help to make the book world the incredible thing that it is, and I look forward to meeting you at The London Event in November. I’ll try my hardest not to throw myself at you and cry but I make no promises. And anyway, if I did you only have yourself to blame 😉

If people only take one recommendation from me then I would tell them to make sure they read this series. Hopeless and Losing Hope are books that will never leave my mind or my heart.

Love and squeezes
Holly – Holly’s Hot Reads

Ps, Daniel needs to have a book where he is madly in love with an awesome chick named Holly *wink wink, nudge nudge* Seriously, the love I have for that boy, he could call me any crazy name he wants!

4 thoughts on “Losing Hope Review

  1. Would it be overused if I stole your WOW? Because WOW. You just made my day. Thank you so much for this heartfelt review. And you’re right, I don’t think I do realize the extent of all of this, but regardless, you better throw yourself on my table in London! I’d even Vine it! ❤

    Like

  2. Holly great review. It’s so close I can feel it. And Colleen just the thought of Losing Hope arriving on my kindle tomorrow at midnight gives me goose bumps. You will always been on my preorder one click list no matter what you write. You are a genius and define the WOW factor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

