Come What May Review

A young couple kissing

*SYNOPSIS*

Adam is through with love.

He unravels blaming himself for what happened with Katie.

His final moments with her echo through his nightmares.

She owns him body and soul.

To dull the pain, Adam invites a string of women into his bed. Fueled by alcohol and desperation, his meaningless hook-ups provide little comfort. When he closes his eyes, it’s Katie he sees.

The only one who helps to ease his guilt somewhat is Jada. But as his new ambulance partner, Adam considers her off limits. He doesn’t want to get seriously involved with anyone, much less her. Yet he can’t stop fantasizing about the feel of her caramel skin against his.

Despite his intentions, Adam’s bond with Jada deepens as they respond to a series of emotional calls. Their mutual attraction becomes undeniable. But how can he give his heart to Jada when it still belongs to Katie?

add-to-goodreads-button31

********ARC received in exchange for an honest review********

4 Stars

After the crazy ending of the first book in the series there was no way I was ever going to be able to NOT read Come What May. I started it straight away desperate to find answers to the questions I had after finishing Heartbeat, and although I didn’t find all of the answers, I really enjoyed this book!

To start with I struggled to get in to the book. I was still reeling from the events of book one and as I had grown to really like Katie as a character, I found it hard to accept the fact that she wasn’t a part of this book and there was now someone new, because I wanted Adam to be with Katie!!!!! But as I started reading – and although she is still mentioned – I kind of forgot about Katie and found myself really liking Jada.
She was really feisty and confident and she wouldn’t put up with any rubbish from Adam. She was black and dealt with racism which was highlighted in the book, and I loved that it was. It’s something that is unfortunately a big problem in our world today and no-one should have to deal with it.

Adam was like a whole different character to me in this book. He was an asshole to be completely honest and for most of the book I didn’t really like him. I understand the events of book one have messed with his head but still . . . He started drinking, smoking weed, having casual sex and he was pretty damn rude! He made some stupid decisions and only thought about himself. He really needed someone to shake some sense in to him so he could realise he was being such a douchebag!

I loved watching Adam and Jada’s relationship. They really didn’t get on well to start with but they started to see the attraction and want more from each other. As it was nearing the end I was really rooting for Jada and though I could tell that the ending still wasn’t going to be a HEA, I once again was not expecting the crazy twist!! Faith has got them down to a fine art now and I am so desperate to find out more and FINALLY get the answers to my questions. I am so excited for the final part of the story, I Am Yours, out in October though I’m not sure I can wait that long. I wonder how Faith feels about bribery . . .

Leave a Reply

