Rule Review

17200687

*SYNOPSIS*

Opposites in every way . . . except the one that matters 

Shaw Landon loved Rule Archer from the moment she laid eyes on him. Rule is everything a straight–A pre-med student like Shaw shouldn’t want–and the only person she’s never tried to please. She isn’t afraid of his scary piercings and tattoos or his wild attitude. Though she knows that Rule is wrong for her, her heart just won’t listen.

To a rebel like Rule Archer, Shaw Landon is a stuck-up, perfect princess-and his dead twin brother’s girl. She lives by other people’s rules; he makes his own. He doesn’t have time for a good girl like Shaw-even if she’s the only one who can see the person he truly is.

But a short skirt, too many birthday cocktails, and spilled secrets lead to a night neither can forget. Now, Shaw and Rule have to figure out how a girl like her and a guy like him are supposed to be together without destroying their love . . . or each other.

add-to-goodreads-button31

4.5 Stars

Opposites don’t just attract, they catch fire and burn the entire city down.

Rule Archer… Well where do I start? He’s an ass. He’s complicated, brash, mouthy, careless, thoughtless and cranky. Through the weekend he spends his nights drinking and partying with his friends and he spends his mornings getting rid of and pissing off whichever skank he picked up from the bar the night before. But he’s also charming, funny, interesting, incredibly artistic artistic and sexy as sin. Covered head to toe in tattooed and piercings, he has ruined me for any guy that doesn’t have a ring through the end of his junk. He was a Twin. ‘Was’ being the correct term. Remy died and their Mother has put the sole blame of the tragic accident on Rule so to say things are strained between him and his family is an understatement.

Remy was my other half, both figuratively and literally. He was my identical Twin, the light to my dark, the easy to my hard, the joy to my angst, the perfect to my oh-do-totally fucked up, and without him I was only half the person I would ever be. – Rule.

Shaw Landon is smart, beautiful, has a great best friend and a huge heart. With her long blonde hair, fancy clothes, insanely rich parents, and boring boyfriend, she has it all, but nothing she really wants. She’s been in love with Rule since she was fourteen years old. Since the day Remy saved her at school, took her home and introduced her to his family. She was welcomed with open arms and showered with love and affection, which is something she never received from her own parents. After Remy’s death, Shaw tried her hardest to put their broken family back together by picking Rule up every Sunday and taking him to his Parents house for Brunch, even though she constantly had to endure seeing different girls in his bed.

I loved him like it was inevitable, like no matter how many times I was shown what an awful idea it was, what a bad match we were, what a callous asshole he could be, I couldn’t shake it. – Shaw.

Then on the night of Shaw’s Birthday, after a few too many shots, she ends up in Rules bed and and it changes everything for the both of them. They face a lot of struggles together and a lot of stuff is thrown at them, things trying to tear them apart and boy, do some parts gets emotional! Rule’s Mom is an awful woman. Yes, I get that losing one of her Sons must be the most horrific thing to ever happen to her, and she’s grieving, but she needs to remember that Rule is also her Son and unlike Remy, he’s still alive. The things she says to Rule are just plain shocking and I couldn’t believe she was saying these things to her own flesh and blood. My heart broke for Rule and I just wanted to slap his Mother. HARD. But she says something to Rule at the end which cooled my anger towards her, though I still think she’s a bitch. Thankfully, none of that stopped him from being able to love with his whole heart.

“Here’s my heart Shaw. You have it in your hands and I promise you’re the first and last person to ever touch it. You need to be careful with it because it’s more fragile than I ever thought, and if you try and give it back I’m not taking it.” – Rule.

I loved Rule. The man and the book. Yes, as I’m sure you’ve seen in other reviews, there are some typos and other mistakes but that didn’t take away from the truly great story that Jay Crownover created. I fell in love with this great tale of love and struggles. I love the secondary characters such as Rowdy, Nash, Jet, Ayden, Cora and Rome, although I think Rome turned in to the asshole when Remy’s secret was finally revealed (although I had guessed it pretty early on). I love how hard Rule loves Shaw even though he wasn’t shown love by his own parents. I love how Shaw is from such a stuck up family but still she loves her polar opposite whole heartedly. I just loved it all and I can’t wait for more from the Marked Men series.

Me and this girl had spent too much time trying to be too many different things for too many wrong reasons for too many other people. Now it was just up to us to be ourselves for each other and love each other for all the right reasons. – Rule.

Leave a Reply

