About A Girl by Lindsey Kelk – Becca’s 4 Star Review

16279773

*SYNOPSIS*

I’d lost my job. I’d lost the love of my life. My mum wasn’t talking to me. My best friend was epically pissed off. And my flatmate probably had a hit out on me by now. I never meant for things to get so out of hand…

Tess Brookes has always been a Girl with a Plan. But when her carefully constructed Plan goes belly up, she’s forced to reconsider.

After accidently answering her flatmate Vanessa’s phone, she decides that since being Tess isn’t going so well, why shouldn’t she try out being Vanessa? With nothing left to lose, she accepts Vanessa’s photography assignment to Hawaii – she used to be an amateur snapper, how hard can it be? Right?

But Tess is soon in big trouble – she isn’t a photographer, she isn’t Vanessa, and the gorgeous journalist on the shoot with her, who is making it very clear he’d like to get into her pants, is an egotistical monster.

Far from home and in someone else’s shoes, Tess must decide whether to fight on through, or ‘fess up and run…

add-to-goodreads-button31

Becca’s 4 Star Review

About a Girl by the incredibly talented writer Lindsey Kelk is the ultimate chick-lit summer read of 2013. Well, that’s my personal opinion anyway. Although I had to make do with reading this story in my bedroom (sometimes stretching to the garden) it is definitely a beach book, best served with a cocktail and sand between your toes. About a Girl was published on the fourth of July 2013, and has an average rating of 5 stars on Amazon! That rating is definitely deserved, and I really hope anyone out there who hasn’t read it yet takes a chance and does so, it’s a story that you really don’t want to be missing out on, I promise you!

In About a Girl, we meet Tess Brookes, witty, smart, speaks fluent sarcasm and knows exactly what she wants from life and how she is going to get it. Until now. It’s as if her life is an egg, and someone’s came along, held it above ground, dropped it, and watched it smash to pieces on the floor. Her career, her love life, and her relationships are about to go into meltdown. After answering a phone call that was meant for her flatmate Vanessa, Tess plays life-swap and takes her flatmates place on a flight to Hawaii. Once she arrives, she begins to wonder, was going half way around the world going to resolve her problems, or were they just going to follow her instead? With her camera at the ready, Tess takes a chance, for the first time in her life.

I really love the pace of this story! It’s not too fast, not too slow, just right. The kind of pace where you can put it down, and then easily pick up from where you were a few days later. It moves smoothly through the story, not focusing too much on details but on the characters themselves, which I adore! Without giving too much away, the story line is brilliant! It keeps you hooked all the way through, every page making you want to read more and more and more… There’s lots of twists and turns along the way, keeping you entertained constantly.

The characters are just pure genius. Tess, the main character, is absolutely hilarious! One of those fictional characters that you just wish you could spend a day with. Some of the things she comes out with had me howling, I loved her from the very beginning. When Tess loses her job, thinking she is having a promotion, she comes out with this classy line.

Racquel (Tess’s boss) – “Perhaps you’d like to schedule some time to go over them on the phone tomorrow.”

Tess – “Or perhaps you’d like you to stop being a dick and tell me why I’m being fired?”

Or how about this one?

Racquel – “I do understand you’re upset, but really, this isn’t a personal issue. It’s just a matter of corporate restructuring.”

Tess – “Well, I think you need to restructure your face.”

Fiesty, but still adorable, the kind of girl I think we can all relate to. There’s tons more characters to touch upon but I think Tess is the one that would make you want to read this one, without a doubt, so I will leave it at that. But there’s a hot guy to look forward too! Well, two hot guys actually, depending on which takes your fancy of course, whether it be the egotistic Nick with the messy blonde hair, or the charming Charlie, with the mop of brown hair, I guess it’s up to you to decide dear readers.

Lindsey Kelk’s writing is just wonderful, so easy to follow and flows smoothly throughout the story. She’s definitely got a humorous side to her, and it radiates through her characters and the scenarios they have to face, but there’s also a lot of emotion in here too, so it’s a good one for those romantic, chick-lit lovers like myself. To tell you the truth readers, you would have to be crazy to not give this slice a quick munch! It’s got everything a girl could want, a tropical paradise, love, nights out, hilarious happenings and a girl who you just want to shake your head at and say, “Oh Tess”.

If this one doesn’t tickle your fancy, Lindsey Kelk has a number of books published, all with fantastic reviews and ratings! I myself purchased the Kindle edition of About a Girl from Amazon UK, where you can find all of her previous novels available to download or purchase. And so my review has came to an end, I wish you all well, and please please read this book, you won’t regret it, it’s a barrel of laughs and a bunch of roses rolled into one.

Amazon UK | Amazon US

One thought on “About A Girl by Lindsey Kelk – Becca’s 4 Star Review

Leave a Reply

