One Tiny Lie by K.A. Tucker – Holly’s 5 Star Review

17302495-1

*SYNOPSIS*

Livie has always been the stable one of the two Cleary sisters, handling her parents’ tragic death and Kacey’s self-destructive phase with strength and maturity. But underneath that exterior is a little girl hanging onto the last words her father ever spoke to her. “Make me proud,” he had said. She promised she would…and she’s done her best over the past seven years with every choice, with every word, with every action.

Livie walks into Princeton with a solid plan, and she’s dead set on delivering on it: Rock her classes, set herself up for medical school, and meet a good, respectable guy that she’s going to someday marry. What isn’t part of her plan are Jell-O shots, a lovable, party animal roommate she can’t say ‘no’ to, and Ashton, the gorgeous captain of the men’s rowing team. Definitely him. He’s an arrogant ass who makes Livie’s usually non-existent temper flare and everything she doesn’t want in a guy. Worse, he’s best friends and roommates with Connor, who happens to fits Livie’s criteria perfectly. So why does she keep thinking about Ashton?

As Livie finds herself facing mediocre grades, career aspirations she no longer thinks she can handle, and feelings for Ashton that she shouldn’t have, she’s forced to let go of her last promise to her father and, with it, the only identity that she knows.

add-to-goodreads-button31

Holly’s 5 Star Review

***ARC received from Atria Books via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review***

“Life has a funny was of creating its own tests. It throws curve balls that make you do and think and feel things that are in direct conflict with what you had planned and don’t allow you to operate in terms of black and white.”

In Ten Tiny Breaths we met Livie Cleary, younger sister of troubled and broken, Kacey. At the age of 9, Livie lost a friend to cancer and vowed to spend her life trying to save the lives of children battling the disease. At age 11, Livie lost her Mother and Father in a tragic car accident. The last words her Dad said to her were “make me proud.” Since that day she has done everything she could to bring his final words to fruition; she stayed strong through her Sister’s breakdown, she studied hard, never let anything distract her – including boys – and now she is following in his footsteps and about to start attending Princeton University.

“Who knows? Maybe Princeton and Med school are what you really want. Maybe the man who makes you happy for the rest of your life is also the one who your parents would have hand picked for you. But maybe you’ll find out that’s not the right path for you. Either way, I want you to make your choices with your eyes wide open rather than on autopilot.”

I loved Ten Tiny Breaths, so I was really looking forward to reading One Tiny Lie, and I was not disappointed. It had a different feel to it from book one, which was all about Kacey trying to overcome the demons of her past, build herself back up, and learn forgiveness. I was so happy to see Dr. Stayner make a return and setting Livie challenges to try and get her to really experience life and live by trial and error instead of by a plan she’s had since she was a child. He really is so unconventional and his methods are crazy but also had me laughing. I think in a way he was kind of like a Father figure to Livie and I loved that she had that because what girl doesn’t need her Daddy? Though I doubt a Dad would tell his Daughter to go to an off campus College party and get drunk for the first time, which is exactly what Stayner did, and in doing so Livie met sexy, man whore, jello thief, Ashton Henley.

“I’m sure he’d quickly get you up to speed on all that you’ve missed these past few years.” “Including Gonorrhea and Crabs?”

Ashton – swoon – he was great. He was an asshole. But I still thought he was great. The Captain of the College Row team steals Livie’s jello shot and her first kiss and then the next day tells her she was a mistake he wants to forget. See – asshole. He also has a girlfriend that he cheats on, a lot. Did someone say HUGE asshole? Oh yeah, that would be me! Then we meet Ash’s roommate, and fellow row team member Connor. He’s gorgeous, sweet, funny and exactly who Livie thinks her parents would want her to be with. But she can’t stop thinking about Ashton and in return, Ashton can’t decide between telling her to be with Connor and trying to seduce her. There are some seriously steamy moments between Livie and Ashton and – though I don’t condone cheating in real life, let’s not forget this is a fictional story with fictional characters – though I felt slightly bad for Connor, I don’t think he really properly cared for Livie. I mean, there were times when things were obviously bothering her, or she was upset and his reaction was always along the lines of “it’ll be fine. Don’t worry about it.” Where as Ash was always THERE for her. He knew what she needed, when she needed it, and he knew the right things to say and do to make her feel better. Livie’s roommate Reagan was so much fun. I loved her character and thought she was just what Livie needed to help bring her out of her shell.

“I don’t hate you Reagan.” I say with a sigh. “I may still want to kill you in your sleep, but I’ll think of you fondly while I’m doing it.”

Once again K.A. Tucker wrote a fantastic story. She really brought all the characters to life and even Cain – Kacey and Storm’s old boss at the strip club – who only made a brief appearance in OTL, left such an impression on me that I’m dying to hear more from him, so I’m very happy that book three will be about – yep you guessed it – Cain!! This book had me laughing at Livie’s new experiences, crying happy and sad tears as I witnessed with the events in her life unfold, heartbroken when secrets of Ashton’s past and present are revealed and perfectly content with the ending. One Tiny Lie is a fantastic story about a young girl finding herself and realising you don’t have to have a perfect life and perfect love to be “remarkable.”

“Because you’re not a one-night girl Irish.” Leaning in to place a kiss on my jawline, he whispers, “You’re my forever girl.”

Amazon UK | Amazon US

2 thoughts on “One Tiny Lie by K.A. Tucker – Holly’s 5 Star Review

  1. That quote: “You’re my forever girl.” OMG I NEED THIS BOOK. But first, I need Ten Tiny Breaths. Gosh, I should have picked up KA Tucker sooner! (Disappointed to hear there’s cheating going on here though. Still, I’m excited)

    Like

Leave a Reply

