New Review – EVERY SHATTERED THING by Elora Ramirez

This is one of the hardest books I’ve ever read. But it’s one that I will never regret reading. It’s currently on sale for just 99c/77p along with the sequel, which is up for pre-order and releasing September 18th, 2014.

image

image

Stephanie fights reality every day. The voices inside, the ones declaring her worth, deem her broken, used and dirty. She is an object. A toy. Something to be tossed aside when bored. Who will believe her if she whispers the truth about her wrecking ball of a family? Eventually, her secret explodes and the person who means the most to her knows just how shattered she is and why she’s so afraid. But rescue is closer than she realizes. Hidden in plain sight, her horror hasn’t been ignored by everyone. Racing against the truth of what she faces, forces are joining together and developing a plan to free her from the hell in her own backyard. And while she’s at her lowest point, she’s hit with the beauty of love at any cost – redemption in the face of ruin. Will it be enough?

*Warning: Contains mature content that may not be suitable for younger audiences*

image

When I first signed up for this tour I knew it was going to be an emotional read. When I started reading the book, I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. I said on my page that it was going to be a book I was either going to love or hate, and to be honest, once I finished I still wasn’t sure how I was feeling. But after some time to process, I can now say, hand on my heart, 5 fantastic stars.

This book. Oh man. It was painful to read. The subject matter was heavy but it was handled with a great amount of care and emotion. The main character, Stephanie . . . that poor girl. As if things didn’t start off bad enough for her, it just kept getting worse and worse until I was literally begging for her to catch a brake. How is it possible for this much evil to happen to one innocent girl?? But it is possible. In fact, it’s not just possible but it actually happens. And I honestly dread to think of the numbers.

Every Shattered Thing was a hard book to read and this a hard review to write. I don’t want to give away exactly what this story is about because I want you to experience it the way I did. And if you feel like giving up because you’re not sure if you can handle it, please don’t. If you give up on this story then it’s almost as if you’re giving up on people who live through this on a daily basis. Their story needs to be heard. It’s not easy but I’m so glad I read it.

Elora Ramirez really brought all the characters to life. The good and the bad, and unfortunately there was more bad than good. But there was good characters. People who fought for Stephanie. Gave her strength. Hope. Made her believe that rescue was possible so she didn’t give up while everyone else just stood by and let it all happen. Please don’t be one of those people on the side lines. Read the book. Look for the signs. We’ve all lived in blissful ignorance for too long.

This hasn’t been my typical review. I’ve not really focused on the writing or the characters but that’s because it all just seems insignificant when you have a storyline such as this one. I have no doubt that this will stay with me for as long as my mind does and I hope it has the same effect on you too. It doesn’t end with a HEA or a cliffhanger but it’s definitely left open for more and some of the other characters have their own story to tell so I will be looking out for them.

There are a few websites listed at the end that I spent a while afterwards looking through with tears streaming down my face as I read about stuff happening in our world that I’ve been completely blind to and I have an unlimited amount of respect for the people who are a part of these organisations. Every Shattered Thing by Elora Ramirez may be fiction but for some, it’s their reality. Please listen.

image

EVERY SHATTERED THING #1 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

SOMEWHERE BETWEEN WATER AND SKY #2 – Out September 18th!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

image

image

Elora Ramirez lives in Austin, Texas with her chef-husband. At the age of four, she taught herself how to read and write, cutting her teeth on books like Dr. Suess and writing anywhere she could find the space—including her Fisher Price kitchen set, the pages of picture books and Highlights Magazine. Since then, she’s grown to love the way words feel as they swell within her bones. Writing holy and broken is her calling, and pushing back the darkness and pursuing beauty through story is her purpose. She loves hip-hop, wishes she lived by the beach and cannot write without copious amounts of coffee, chocolate, and her husband’s lavender liqueur.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Booktropolous | Instagram

2 thoughts on “New Review – EVERY SHATTERED THING by Elora Ramirez

Leave a Reply

