Blog Tour – My Unexpected Forever by Heidi McLaughlin – Holly’s 5 Star Review

17185556

*SYNOPSIS*
I expected a life of music.
I expected to raise my son.
It took one look to make everything change.
I never expected happiness.

I never expected to find her.
I never expected to feel desire.
I never expected I’d be a family man.
I never expected to be loved.
I never expected to fall in love.

They say you should expect the unexpected, I didn’t realize my unexpected would be the forever kind.

add-to-goodreads-button31

********ARC received in exchange for an honest review********

Holly’s 5 Star Review

When I stumbled upon Forever My Girl by Heidi McLaughlin at the beginning of the year, I couldn’t read it fast enough. I loved every minute of Josie and Liam’s story so when I heard there would be a sequel focusing on Josie’s best friend Kaitlyn and Liam’s best friend and band mate Harrison, I couldn’t wait. And when I finally got the chance to read it, I was NOT disappointed. My Unexpected Forever completely out did my expectations and blew Forever My Girl out of the water.

At the start of book #1 we learn that Kaitlyn’s husband has died leaving her with twin girls Elle and Peyton. When Liam decides to move to Beaumont to be with his family, he is joined by Harrison and his son Quinn. Consumed by grief, Kaitlyn has no intentions of starting a relationship with anyone and especially not a tattooed drummer, who couldn’t be more different from her husband. But love can be found in the most unexpected of people, and sometimes you just have to take a chance, to find your forever.

This book was absolutely fantastic. I really didn’t think that Heidi could top FMG but she really did! I felt the characters emotions as if they were my own and I suffered with them, cried with them, laughed with them, grieved with them and loved with them. It’s safe to say I was a bit all over the place. I literally could not put this book down and even when I finished, I still struggled to let these go. And I don’t just mean Kaitlyn and Harrison. The kids, Quinn, Elle, Peyton, and Noah (Liam and Josie’s son) all stole a piece of my heart and I loved how they all came together as a family and helped each other when needed.

My heart broke for Kaitlyn and the girls. Especially with Peyton because of her strong bond with her dad, and when Kaitlyn would have flash backs to moments when he was alive. I love that even though Mason wasn’t physically in any of the books, he was there in their thoughts and memories and I really do love him as a character. And though I love Mason, I completely fell in love with Harrison. He’s such an incredible guy. He’s thoughtful, he’s patient, he loves his son with every bit of his heart and he was a fantastic father. Even to the point of being there for the twins and helping them through the loss of their dad, and loving them like they are his own. You could tell how much Kaitlyn meant to him and it broke my heart that he constantly felt rejected by her.

One thing I would have liked to know more about though was his tattoos. There’s one part where Quinn says to his dad that his tattoos tell a story and Kaitlyn should learn to read them. And while he does explain the stories behind his ink to her, we as a reader don’t get to find out what they mean and as a big lover of body art and the reasons behind it, I was a little disappointed. But that is literally the only thing I can say that I would have different because everything else was perfection.

I feel like I’m saying goodbye to friends now that I’ve finished with the latest book in this series and that’s stupid, right? I mean, it’s a book with fictional characters but Heidi made me feel such a part of their world that I’m sad to let them go. I wish that this series could just go on forever because I love it so much and I wait impatiently for whatever Heidi brings us next. My Unexpected Forever is without a doubt a book that I would recommend, and Harrison is officially my new book boyfriend!

*PRE-ORDER LINKS*

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00EOVJWR8

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00EOVJWR8

*AUTHOR BIO*

Heidi is the author of USA Today, Digital Book World, Amazon and Barnes & Noble Bestselling novel, Forever My GirlOriginally from the Pacific Northwest, she now lives in picturesque Vermont, with her husband and two daughters. Also renting space in their home is an over-hyper Beagle/Jack Russell and two Parakeets.During the day Heidi is behind a desk talking about Land Use. At night, she’s writing one of the many stories planned for release or sitting court-side during either daughter’s basketball games.

*STALKING LINKS*

Website: http://www.heidimclaughlin.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/HeidiJoVT

Author Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6568302.Heidi_McLaughlin

Leave a Reply

