Blog Tour – Picking Up The Pieces by Jessica Prince – Holly’s 5 Star Review, Excerpt and Giveaway.

image

TITLE: Picking up the Pieces

SERIES: Picking up the Pieces #1

AUTHOR: Jessica Prince

GENRE: Contemporary Romance, Women’s fiction

 RELEASE DATE: July 2 , 2013

image

*SYNOPSIS*

After having her heart broken by the only man she’s ever loved everything seemed to go downhill for Emerson Grace. It has taken eight years but Emmy is finally starting to pick up the pieces of her damaged life. But the man who destroyed it has returned bringing with him the pain of the past. Can she let go of the pain Luke caused and accept him back into her life or will the memories be too much for her to overcome?

Running from Emmy was the only way Lucas Allen knew he could protect her from the demons he carried with him. After spending one perfect night together Luke takes off, certain that he can’t possibly give Emmy everything she deserves. Now he’s made the decision to return to Cloverleaf and make things right. But is he prepared to truly face all of the damaged he has caused?

Will Luke and Emmy finally get their chance at love or will the secrets of the past stop them before they even get to begin?

 Add to Goodreads: HERE

 
*EXCERPT*

“You can’t make me do anything I don’t want to do Luke.”

The grin that spread across his face was almost frightning.

“That’s the beauty of it, baby. you want this just as much as I do. You were practically begging for me to be inside you.”

“F**k you,” I hissed as I shot off the bed in search of my cloths.

“I plan to.” He grabbed me by my arm and pulled me back onto the bed before I could even blink…

 ****ARC received in exchange for an honest review****

Holly’s 5 Star Review

This book . . . Truly, truly fantastic! I loved every minute of it and in all honesty, there’s not a single thing I would change about it and I can’t believe that it is Jessica Prince’s debut novel! She definitely has a bright future in publishing ahead of her and I’m so glad I got the chance to a part of her first Blog Tour. Picking Up The Pieces is one of my favourite books of 2013 and I would without a doubt suggest that you get your one-click finger at the ready.

When Luke returns to Cloverleaf after 8 years, he isn’t met with a warm welcome by his old friends and it is made clear that he isn’t wanted. He wants to make up for the mistakes of his past and start a life with the only girl he’s ever loved, but the choices Luke made all those years ago had a devastating effect on Emmy. He will do anything for Emmy’s forgiveness but first he must go through his former friends. But when the sequence of events following his departure all those years ago are revealed, it might just be too little too late for Luke and the girl he left behind.

To start with it reminded me a little of Forever My Girl by Heidi McLaughlin – which isn’t a bad thing because I loved that book – but I found myself hoping it would stand out on it’s own as the book got going and it really did. I soon forgot about any comparisons as I got lost in Emmy’s story. There’s a really heartbreaking storyline but there’s also a fun element brought by Emmy’s friends. I really loved all the characters and how Jessica Prince brought them to life. They were a great bunch and reminded me so much of my own friends with all the name calling and threats and I loved that they always knew exactly what Emmy needed.

My heart aches so bad for Emmy and everything that she went through in her past. To have made it through all that just shows what a strong character she is and despite the intense attraction, I’m not surprised she wanted to stay far away from Luke when he returned. I was really torn with Luke. Part of me loved him (especially when he was in alpha-mode) but another part of me was mad at him! I completely understand the reasons behind what he did but that doesn’t make him any less of an A-hole. Though his actions were to protect Emmy I couldn’t help but see them as selfish because he didn’t stop to think about how it would effect her.

When Emmie’s secret is revealed (even though I had already guessed it) I couldn’t help but cry. It wasn’t a full on hysterical, ugly cry, but more like a steady stream of constant tears that pretty much didn’t stop until the book did. Even at bits that weren’t sad I was still filled with so much emotion that I couldn’t stop the tears from falling.

The epilogue was perfect. Most books end with you deliriously happy, heartbroken or in shock. Picking Up The Pieces had me laying in bed at 1am trying and failing to silently laugh at what I read. It was a fantastic ending and I can’t wait for more in book 2. I also really hope that some of the secondary characters get their own books because I can tell they have a story to tell and I look forward to seeing how they develop over the course of this series.

Picking Up The Pieces by Jessica Prince is a definite 5 star read and one I suggest you don’t miss out on.

*AUTHOR BIO*

image

I’m a wife, mother, wino, coffee addict and avid a lover of all types of books, but romances are my main favs. My husband likes to say reading is my obsession but I just say it’s my passion… there’s a difference. 

I’ve been writing since I was a little kid and I finally decided to take the leap and actually publish when Picking up the Pieces came to me. Now that I’ve been bitten by the writing bug I just can’t seem to stop. 

 *STALKING LINKS*

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJessicaPrince

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7044544.Jessica_Prince

Twitter: http://twitter.com/JessPrince2013

 

*BUYING LINKS*

Amazon US HERE

Amazon UK HERE

Barnes & Noble HERE

*GIVEAWAY*

♡ 1 Signed copy of Picking up the Pieces
♡ $100 Gift card, amazon or B&N (Winners choice)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 thoughts on “Blog Tour – Picking Up The Pieces by Jessica Prince – Holly’s 5 Star Review, Excerpt and Giveaway.

  1. That is almost too hard to answer, but I think Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy is my favorite. Mostly because it got me reading more and introduced me to lots of great new authors and books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

