New Review – Blog Tour: Rome by Jay Crownover

image

Check out my stop on the Rome by Jay Crownover blog tour. You can see my review, enter the giveaway, and while the book is available for pre-order in the US, it is already LIVE in the UK so make sure you snap it up.

Title: Rome
Series: Marked Men #3
Author: Jay Crownover
Genre: New Adult
Publication Date: January 7, 2014
Publisher: William Morrow an imprint of HarperCollins Publishing
Hosted by: Literati Author Services, Inc.

image

♡SYNOPSIS♡

Cora Lewis is a whole lot of fun, and she knows how to keep her tattooed bad boy friends in line. But all that flash and sass hide the fact that she’s never gotten over the way her first love broke her heart. Now she has a plan to make sure that never happens again: She’s only going to fall in love with someone perfect.

Rome Archer is as far from perfect as a man can be. He’s stubborn and rigid, he’s bossy and has come back from his final tour of duty fundamentally broken. Rome’s used to filling a role: big brother, doting son, super soldier; and now none of these fit anymore. Now he’s just a man trying to figure out what to do with the rest of his life while keeping the demons of war and loss at bay. He would have been glad to suffer it alone, until Cora comes sweeping into his life and becomes the only color on his bleak horizon.

Perfect isn’t in the cards for these two, but imperfect might just last forever . . .

♡REVIEW♡

*ARC received via edelweiss in exchange for an honest review*

“Love isn’t perfect. It’s hard work and sometimes it’s more effort to be in love than it is to just run away. If you keep looking for perfect, the real thing is going to pass right by you.”- Jet.

The Marked Men series by Jay Crownover is one of my favourites. Hot guys covered in tattoos and piercings – what’s not to love? But in the third book in the series, we have Rome Archer, who is marked in a completely different way to the inked up Rule and Jet of previous books.

Rome is a hero. Having served in the army for nearly 10 years, he was forced into early retirement after injuries left him unable to fight. Rome’s time in the army has left it’s mark both physically and mentally, which has meant he has struggled to adjust to civilian life and has resulted in him receiving his very own nickname from Cora.

We don’t need all that negative, Captain No-Fun. Why don’t you go spread your gloom and doom somewhere else?-Cora.

Cora is the fiery little “pixie” in charge of piercing at the tattoo shop owned by Nash’s uncle Phil, and she’s a close friend to all the guys and their girls. Having had her heart ripped out by her ex, she now refuses to settle for anything less than perfect, even if it means sitting back and watching as her friends find happiness.

In both Rule, and Jet, one person always stood out for me and that was Cora. I absolutely LOVED her and was desperate for her to have her own book. So when I found out that she was going to be a main part of Rome’s book, well, I had very mixed opinions. For as much as I loved Cora, I hated Rome. HATED him!

When we first met him in book #1 I thought he was fantastic and a truly lovely older brother. But then he turned into a real A-hole and I couldn’t stand him. Through book #2, though we didn’t see much from him, he continued to be unlikable and so my hopes for book #3 weren’t the highest. But boy, did he turn it around.

We learn so much from him and how he’s feeling since leaving the army, very early on and almost instantly it was impossible to hate him. He’s dealing with not only what he went through while in the army, but also Remy’s secret and death, and feeling uneeded by the people who have always needed him.

I got used to everyone needing me, to them relying on me, and now that I wasn’t needed anymore I simply just didn’t know what to do with myself.-Rome.

On paper, Cora and Rome aren’t a couple that work. She’s tiny, covered in bright tattoos and piercings, and full of light and life. She’s also looking for perfect. He’s huge and far from perfect. Covered in scars, and living in a world of pain darkness. He wants to take care of everyone but in reality, it’s him who needs taking care of. They couldn’t be more different if they tried, but together, they made their own perfect. And it works.

We also get to meet bar owner Brite, who has a huge impact on Rome and his story was so sad but what he did for Rome brought tears to my eyes. And talking of tears . . . We get to learn more about Remy which was enough to make you cry, but there’s one certain scene that was instant tears. Even just thinking about it now is making me emotional. Jay Crownover was an evil genius with that one. Heartbreaking perfection.

I never let him know that I might have been his hero, but he was mine.-Rome.

Each book in this series just gets better and better, and though I didn’t think it was possible to love Rome’s book more than I did Jet’s, I absolutely do. I ended up highlighting so much of this book on my Kindle that it took longer to pick quotes than it did to write the actual review. A definite 5 star read, and one not to be missed.

He wasn’t perfect, I wasn’t perfect, but the love we had for each other . . . Nothing was more perfect than that.-Cora.

★★★★★

Goodreads | B&N | Amazon UK | Amazon US

There’s a tour wide giveaway that you can enter using the Rafflecopter link below –

a Rafflecopter giveaway

♡AUTHOR BIO♡

image I’m supposed to share interesting details about myself so that my readers get to know me so here we go in no particular order: I’m an natural redhead even though I haven’t seen my real hair color in years, I’m a big fan of tattoos and have a half sleeve on either arm and various other pieces all over the place, I’ve been in the bar industry since I was in college and it has always offered interesting insight into how men and women interact with each other, I have 3 dogs that are all crazy, I live in Colorado and love the snow, I love music and in all reality wish I could be a rock star not a writer or a bartender but I have zero talent so there is that.

I love to write, love to read and all I’m interested in is a good story with interesting characters that make the reader feel something.

Facebook | Twitter | Website | Goodreads

 

One thought on “New Review – Blog Tour: Rome by Jay Crownover

Leave a Reply

