New Review – Blog Tour: Changing Course by Aly Martinez

image

Title: Changing Course
Series: Wrecked and Ruined #1
Author: Aly Martinez
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: January 29, 2014
Hosted By: Love Between the Sheets Promotions

image

♡SYNOPSIS♡

I met Sarah Kate Erickson when I was 21 years old. I was lucky enough to keep her for seven years before a tragic accident stole her from me. She didn’t die, but sometimes I think it would have been easier if she had.

I lived in a haze for those four years after the accident. Catering to her every need, even though she hated the very sight of my face. I tried to hold on to her and the future that we were supposed to build together. But you can’t hold on to someone that doesn’t exist anymore.

It wasn’t until I met Jesse Addison, a barista at the local coffee shop, that I realized I didn’t just lose Sarah that tragic night, I lost myself as well. Jesse taught me how to let go of the past and learn to love again. But what happens when your past haunts your present and the woman you used to love refuses to accept the woman you can’t live without?

♡REVIEW♡

Wow, wow, wow! What an amazing book! I still can’t really believe that this is Aly Martinez’s debut novel because there’s honestly not a single thing that I could even attempt to fault. I was immediately drawn in to the story that Aly had created and the outside world no longer existed while I was lost within the pages of this beautiful story of loss, and second chances.

CHANGING COURSE starts with Detective Brett Sharp telling us about the night that he met his wife Sarah, and the life they lived happily, until a tragic accident stole that life from them. Sarah and Brett’s story is so great to begin with. It’s funny and sexy, and you can tell that they truly love each other. But then we learn of the accident, and it’s nothing short of heartbreaking. The emotions just poured off the pages and I felt every gut-wrenching moment of Brett and Sarah’s turmoil.

Four years later and Brett still can’t let go and move on from the past that haunts him. That is, until coffee shop barista Jesse Addison changes everything. I absolutely loved everything about Jesse. She’s shy and insecure but she also has a really feisty side to her that makes her unafraid to tell someone when they’re being a jerk. Though no matter how mad she got, she refused to cuss, which I loved. She also has the biggest, kindest heart, and this was shown time and time again.

Brett and Jess were just perfect together. They each helped the other overcome their struggles, though it was anything but easy. They fought hard for what they wanted, but it definitely wasn’t all hardships. They had such a great relationship that (all things Sarah aside) was filled with fun, and laughs, and holy hotness the chemistry they shared was on fire!!

The heartbreaking accident didn’t just affect Brett and Sarah though. Brett’s best friend Caleb lost his fiancé that night and he’s still living with the pain of losing her. It was impossible not to love Caleb, and I’m so happy that he gets his chance at love again in the second book in the series (^/$’:) though it’s not yet been announced who will be his lucky lady.

Through CHANGING COURSE I was completely torn when it came to Sarah. Part of me thought she was just absolutely crazy and I desperately wanted her out of the picture so Brett and Jesse could get on with their life. But the rest of me felt so incredibly bad for her. I can’t even begin to imagine what she’s been going through and I don’t know how likely it is, but I’m really hoping that one of the books in the series also gives Sarah a shot to love again.

If you love books that will put you through the wringer when it comes to the emotions that you will feel, and has a bunch of truly fantastic characters that make you wish they were your friends, then CHANGING COURSE is the book for you. One of the best stories of love, loss, and hope, that I’ve read in a very long time.

★★★★★

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

♡EXCERPT♡

“I’m broken Jess, but I need you to hear these words before I go. Trust me, I know saying this makes me a selfish bastard, because I’ve seen you cry three times in the five days we have been together. But for me, these last few days have been an awakening. I now see the sun behind the fog, and it’s a damn good feeling.

“I’m sorry about all of this, I truly am. Please believe me, and think about what I’ve said. I can’t promise you anything more than tomorrow, but maybe one day, the fog will disappear leaving only sunny days ahead.” He doesn’t stall even a minute longer. He simply walks to the corner, cleans up the broken glass, then walks out the front door.

CHANGING COURSE (#1) – Out Now!

ADD to → Goodreads

BUY from the UK → eBook

BUY from the US → eBook

STOLEN COURSE (#2) – Out May!

ADD to → Goodreads

BROKEN COURSE (#3) – Out September!

ADD to → Goodreads

Check out this amazing GIVEAWAY that is happening throughout the CHANGING COURSE Blig Tour.

☆ GRAND PRIZE: Kindle Fire (7″ HD Display, Wi-Fi, 8GB)

☆ (2) Signed Paperback of Changing Course (US Only)

☆ (1) Signed Paperback of Until November by Aurora Rose Reynolds (US Only)

☆ (1) eBook copy of the Hart Family Box Set by Ella Fox

☆ (1) eBook copy of Ignite and eARC of Incinerate by Tessa Teevan

☆ (1) eBook copy of Save Me From Myself by Stacey Mosteller

☆ (1) eBook copy of Push the Envelope by Rochelle Paige

☆ (1) eBook copy of The Infamous Ellen James by NA Alcorn

☆ (1) eBook copy of Goodbye Caution by Jacquelyn Ayres

☆ (1) eBook copy of Tempo by Kelly Collins

☆ (1) eBook copy of At Death It Begins by Elle Jefferson

☆ (1) eBook copy of Broken by K Webster

a Rafflecopter giveaway

image

♡AUTHOR BIO♡

I’m a 32 year old wife and stay at home mom to four kids under the age of five, including a set of twins. My life is crazy, which is probably why I drink entirely too much wine. Oh who am I kidding, I had a love affair with wine long before the kids came along.  I was born and raised in Savannah Georgia, but we recently moved to Chicago. Let me tell you, this southern girl was not ready for the cold weather up here!

I’m an avid reader, but I haven’t always been that way. A few years ago my sister loaned me her Nook Color, and it changed my life forever. In the span of about two years, I read over 500 books. My newfound love of reading led me to start a book blog with two of my best friends. (Insert shameless plug here: WhiteZinBookends.com). Through WZ Bookends, I’ve had the opportunity to meet some of the most amazing authors, bloggers, and readers out there. Now that I have taken the leap into writing my own book, they’ve all shown me endless amounts of encouragement and support.

While driving home from Walmart one day in late October, a story embedded itself in my head and would not let go. It spiraled out of control until I finally opened my laptop and started writing. This journey has been a wild ride filled with tears, hand cramps, and tons of laughs. I love company, so follow me at one of the social links below and join me aboard this crazy train!

Author links → Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

