New Review – Blog Tour: BEFORE YOU BREAK by Christina Lee

image

BEFORE YOU BREAK by Christina Lee is now LIVE and today you can see my review, as well an excerpt and giveaway. But first, see what some of Hot Reads favourite authors say about this new release –

“Hot, sweet, emotional, page-turner, awesome.” —New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Monica Murphy

“This is one New Adult you don’t want to miss.” —New York Times and USA Today bestselling author A. L. Jackson

“Steamy, honest, and full of heart.” —Roni Loren, national bestselling author

image

image

A sexy, emotional New Adult romance about a bad boy on the edge and a good girl about to lose control…

A college baseball star isn’t supposed to have skeletons in his closet. But Daniel Quinn is hiding a guilty past so dark he refuses to let anyone get close. Except there’s something about gorgeous, studious Ella Abrams that goes beyond the electric attraction between them–something that makes him want to open up.

Ella has suffered enough heartache and guilt to fill one of her psychology textbooks, but she keeps that part of herself hidden behind a bubbly exterior. Until she receives an anonymous call while working a suicide helpline and the voice on the other end touches something inside of her that she can’t ignore.

Soon Ella and Quinn’s physical connection heats up, even as their deep and revealing hotline talks intensify. But by the time Ella realizes that her seductive jock and her sensitive caller are the same guy, it might be too late to save him–or to stop herself from falling too far…

image

Before I really get into my thoughts on this book, I feel the need to point out that when I was reading it, I was suffering from a MAJOR book hangover from my previous read. This basically means that I didn’t love this book as much as I would have had I not been in hangover hell, BUT the fact that I still really did enjoy BEFORE YOU BREAK goes to show that more than likely you will LOVE it, and if I was to reread at another time, I have no doubt that I would too.

Ella is dating a real jerk. There’s no two ways about it. He’s a douchbag. And when she starts getting closer to his frat brother Quinn, she’s quick to realise it, but by this point, her trust in men is broken. As she spends more time with Quinn, she finds out that he’s hiding something that is set to destroy him, and not only that, but her mystery caller at the suicide helpline where she works, is the same man that she is falling in love with.

At the very beginning of the book, I wasn’t a fan of Quinn. I feel bad for saying this but I actually found jim really annoying. Thankfully, that didn’t last long, and in no time at all he completely changed my opinion on him. Though the synopsis describes him as a “bad boy”, I don’t think that’s the case at all. He’s carrying around huge amounts of guilt from something in his past that he blames himself for, but I think he’s a good to the bone. His parents don’t really seem to show him love, but he has a beautiful heart and I don’t think I’ve ever seen a book boyfriend have so much respect for a woman as Quinn does for Ella.

We first met Ella in book #1 in the series ALL OF YOU, though I’ll admit, it’s been quite some time since I read that book so I don’t actually remember her, but I loved her in BEFORE YOU BREAK. She is so kind, and thoughtful, and though she is dealing with guilt and heartache from her own past, she’s very much committed to helping others in need.

I loved that Daniel (Quinn) rang the helpline to talk to Gabby (Ella) because we got to see two different sides to him, and as it turned out, the side that he was scared to show Ella, was just another side if him for her love. Another thing I loved – there are so many books out there thes days where the characters are having sex every chapter, and to be honest, I love sexy scenes in books but it’s starting to become too much. Well Christina Lee has managed to write a book that isn’t filled to bursting with sex, but still manages to be steamy throughout. For me, it was the perfect mix of sexy and emotional.

Though i didn’t love it as much as I loved the previous book in this series, BEFORE YOU BREAK was another great read from the very talented Christina Lee, and I very much look forward the next.

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

image

image

ALL OF YOU (#1) – Out Now!
My Review | Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

BEFORE YOU BREAK (#2) – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

WHISPER TO ME (#3) – Out May!
Goodreads | US eBook

To enter the Rafflecopter giveaway just click here

image

At the theater, we bought popcorn, Milk Duds, and large sodas. After we settled in our seats in the crowded room, I opened the box of chocolate caramel confections and dumped them in the large tub.

“Um,” Quinn said, scratching his chin.

“Sweet and salty—it’s a must-have for movie watching.”

“Seriously?”

“Yes, seriously.” I picked up a Milk Dud, flanked it with two pieces of popcorn, and then brought it to his lips. “Here. I guarantee you’ll fall in love. You’ll never watch a movie without them again.”

“If you say so. . . .” He dragged the sweet and salty mixture into his mouth but kept my fingers enclosed between his lips. I held in a gasp while he ran his tongue over my thumb and then sucked on my forefinger before releasing my hand and chewing what remained.

“Agree,” he said around a mouthful of popcorn. “Wouldn’t want to be without them ever again.”

Quinn’s gaze latched on to mine. It felt like a bundle of feathers had been let loose in my stomach. “Guess you’ll have to come to every movie from now on. So I don’t forget.”

Speechless wasn’t even the word for what I felt in that moment. Dumbfounded might have been more like it, or maybe just struck stupid, because I couldn’t even move my lips to form any coherent words.

When the movie previews began, he turned toward the screen and reached for my fingers, interlacing our hands. Then he leaned close to my ear and said, “I expect you to feed me just like that the entire movie.”

image

Mother, wife, reader, dreamer. Christina lives in the Midwest with her husband and son–her two favorite guys. She’s addicted to lip gloss and salted caramel everything. She believes in true love and kissing, so writing romance novels has become a dream job. 

Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Website

image

Leave a Reply

