New Review – TEARS OF TESS by Pepper Winters

image

image

A New Adult Dark Contemporary Romance, not suitable for people sensitive to grief, slavery, and nonconsensual sex. A story about finding love in the strangest of places, a will of iron that grows from necessity, and forgiveness that may not be enough.

“My life was complete. Happy, content, everything neat and perfect.

Then it all changed.

I was sold.”

Tess Snow has everything she ever wanted: one more semester before a career in property development, a loving boyfriend, and a future dazzling bright with possibility. For their two year anniversary, Brax surprises Tess with a romantic trip to Mexico. Sandy beaches, delicious cocktails, and soul-connecting sex set the mood for a wonderful holiday. With a full heart, and looking forward to a passion filled week, Tess is on top of the world.

But lusty paradise is shattered.

Kidnapped. Drugged. Stolen. Tess is forced into a world full of darkness and terror. Captive and alone with no savior, no lover, no faith, no future, Tess evolves from terrified girl to fierce fighter. But no matter her strength, it can’t save her from the horror of being sold.

Can Brax find Tess before she’s broken and ruined, or will Tess’s new owner change her life forever?

image

For so long, a copy of this book sat unread on my Kindle. Having been reviewed on my blog by a guest reviewer, I didn’t feel the need to pick it up straight away, and it ended up buried underneath hundreds of other eBooks and ARCs.

I had no idea what it was about. I hadn’t read the synopsis (and still, when I eventually did read it, I did so without knowing the subject). All I knew was what readers had told me.

Lots of → “You NEED to read this book. It’s amazing.”

And even more → “Be warned; this book is very dark.”

To be honest, the fact that people kept pointing out how dark it was, was what piqued my interest originally and when one day I asked for recommendations of dark books, TEARS OF TESS was the most mentioned book. I took that as my cue that I finally needed to see what this story was all about.

I am a sucker for a raw and gritty read, and after the endless comments about how dark this was, I was full of nervous excitement at what I would find. And to be honest…maybe I’m a little twisted, but I didn’t really find it dark at all.

The subject matter being abduction, slavery, and rape, was about as dark as it went. The actual content, not so much. It wasn’t warm and fluffy by any means. To go through what Tess went through at the hands of her captors would be your own worst nightmare come to life. But even though it wasn’t as dark as I was hoping, it didn’t take away from the fact that this book was fantastic!

I was hooked. I could not put my Kindle down, and I devoured every single word that the author wrote. I loved the storyline. I’ve read a few abduction books before, but this one definitely held my attention more than the others. My concentration on this story didn’t wane once, and once Q entered, I was greedy for more.

I loved him! So! Much! He’s such a complex character and it would do an injustice to Pepper Winter’s creation to try and explain what this man is all about. He was very much a surprise, and I couldn’t get enough of him. And, being as the book is named after her, let’s not forget Tess. She is probably one of my favourite female main characters. I loved her strength and her ability to find the good in the monster.

After finishing TEARS OF TESS, I was both happy and sad that I had waited so long to read it. Sad, because it was a great book that I wish I had read as soon as it was on my Kindle. And happy, because leaving it so long, meant that I could go straight from book #1, to book #2. Which I did. Eagerly.

image

image

TEARS OF TESS (#1) – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

QUINTESSETIALLY Q (#2) – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

TWISTED TOGETHER (#3) – Out Soon!
Goodreads

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

