New Review – Blog Tour: LOVE ALWAYS, KATE by D. Nichole King

image

image

Dear Diary, 

Leukemia’s been my life since I was eleven. Now, six years later, I want my life back. Only I’m not sure what that is.

The test results came back today. 22,000. Which means I’m officially out of remission—again.

I have three options:

1. Another round of chemo.

2. A super-new experimental drug.

3. Dump it all— forget the meds and treatments and enjoy the time I have left.

I think I know what I want.

Then, in walks Damian, changing everything.

I mean, everything. He’s got his own set of issues. It binds us together, you know? We understand what it’s like to lose what matters most in seconds. Still, the last thing I need is to have someone else to crush if I can’t fight hard enough. And the last thing he needs is someone else to grieve.

Never mind. I’m down to two options now.

Somehow I know that whichever one I choose, the result will be the same. With the sand in my hourglass seeping to the bottom, I hope there’s enough left to show Damian that life’s worth living. Worth fighting for.

Worth dying for.

Love Always,
Kate

image

Sometimes writing reviews for great books is easy. Sometimes it’s hard. This is one of the ones that’s hard.

When I was first asked to read this book by the author, I hadn’t even seen a synopsis so I had no real idea what to expect, other than it was a diary about a girl with cancer.

It has everything you would expect from a YA cancer story. An intense first love; a fight for survival; unexpected friendships; a strong sense of love, and a whole host of tears.

I’m not really one to compare one book to another, but I’ve seen some readers link LOVE ALWAYS, KATE to THE FAULT IN OUR STARS by John Green. My view on this? The only similarities are that they’re both YA and cancer stories.

While TFIOS was very comical with it’s dorky characters, and had some emotional scenes towards the very end, LA,K has a much more serious feel to it, and focuses more on the emotions. I cried a LOT whilst reading this. More than I actually thought I would.

But you see, this isn’t just a story about a girl with cancer. It’s also the story of a boy. A boy who has been dealt a few powerful blows in life that he has let take him under. And while Kate’s future is uncertain, she’s going to make sure that Damian’s is one worth living.

“We all die, Damian. Before I do, I want to love with all my heart. Give all I have, experience all I can, and leave behind some piece of me that will never be forgotten. I want to enjoy the time I have left. I’m choosing life. Moments. Memories. For you.”

A tragic, but beautiful story of hope, love, strength, and survival.

image

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

image

LOVE ALWAYS, KATE – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

image

image

image

Since I was born and raised in Iowa, I like to create stories where my home state is the setting. There’s nothing like small-town Midwest scenery to create the perfect backdrop for an amazing tale!

I’ve always loved to read and write. I’ll read anything: Classics, fantasy, contemporary, mystery, horror. It doesn’t matter as long as it draws me in. As a kid, I was raised on authors such as Lurlene McDaniel, R.L. Stine, Danielle Steele, Mary Higgins Clark, Stephen King, and Shakespeare.

Writing-wise, my fondness lies in the YA/NA genre, though I do have a couple of women’s fiction stories swimming around in my head. When not writing, I’m usually curled up with a book, scrapbooking, or doing yet another load of laundry.

Along with her incredible husband, I live in small-town Iowa with my four adorable (yet ornery) children and their dog, Peaches.

The Spirit is the first book of The Spirit Trilogy, and is my debut novel.

Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter | Website

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “New Review – Blog Tour: LOVE ALWAYS, KATE by D. Nichole King

  1. Yes! This is such an amazing book. Holly, you covered it so well. Heartbreaking, beautiful, full of hope…Everything. And I cannot WAIT for “Letting Go,” where the story continues. This is a standalone—it totally is—and still, it leaves the reader wanting more. And more is coming in the second and last installment. Next year, D? When? ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

