New Review – Blog Tour: FIVE WAYS TO FALL by K.A. Tucker

20140628-135204-49924682.jpg

FIVE WAYS TO FALL has stopped by the blog today. Check out my review, the official playlist, full series buying links, AND a giveaway for a Kindle and three signed paperbacks!!!

20140628-135204-49924745.jpg

image

Sometimes you can’t change—and sometimes you just don’t want to.

Discover Ben’s side of the story in this fourth novel by the beloved, top-selling indie author of Ten Tiny Breaths,One Tiny Lie, and Four Seconds to Lose.

Purple-haired, sharp-tongued Reese MacKay knows all about making the wrong choice; she’s made plenty of them in her twenty-odd-years. So when her impulsive, short-lived marriage ends in heartbreak, she decides it’s time for a change. She moves to Miami with the intention of hitting reset on her irresponsible life, and she does quite well…aside from an epically humiliating one-night stand in Cancun with a hot blond bouncer named Ben. Thank God she can get on a plane and leave that mistake behind her.

Football scholarship and frat parties with hot chicks? Part of charmer Ben Morris’s plan. Blown knee that kills any hope of a professional football career? So not part of the plan. Luckily Ben has brains to go with his knockout looks and magnetism. After three long years of balancing law school with his job as a bouncer at Penny’s Palace, he’s ready to lead a more mature life—until his first day of work, when he finds himself in the office of that crazy, hot chick he met in Cancun. The one he hasn’t stopped thinking about.

If Ben truly were a smart guy, he’d stay clear of Reese. She’s the boss’s stepdaughter and it’s been made very clear that office romances are grounds for dismissal. Plus, rumor has it she’s trouble. The only problem is, he likes trouble, especially when it’s so good-looking…

image

“Don’t you dare let me fall into this water! It’s fucking freezing.”

A strange look passes through his blue eyes.

“Let you fall? Reese, you should know by now that I’d never let that happen.”

I’m in serious denial right now. In fact, I’ve been in denial since I finished this book a few months ago. I keep telling myself it’s not over! It can’t be. This just can’t be the last novel in the series. It can’t!!!!! But unfortunately, it is. Though we will be getting a novella, that will take us right back to the beginning as it is set in the time before the events of TEN TINY BREATHS, we won’t be getting another full length novel. But do you know what? K.A Tucker ended it on one heck of a high.

Throughout the rest of the books in the series I was never all that interested in reading about Ben. In fact, after Cain’s book, I just wanted to read about Cain non stop because I loved him so much! And we had never even met Reese before, so I will be honest – I wasn’t all that sure how I would feel about FIVE WAYS TO FALL, but because I’m such a big fan of this series there was no way I was going to pass it up.

Within the first few pages I knew how I would feel about Reese throughout this book, and by the start of the second chapter I also knew whether or not K.A was going to change my views on Ben. And do you know what I found? Reese is my absolute favourite female character from this entire series, and Ben completely won me over to the point that I’d say he is rivalling Cain as my top male character, and that is some feat!

I just adored everything about this book. How Reese and Ben met. How they met again. Their non-relationship. Their acknowledged relationship. Their personalities. The things that them them. Learning about their pasts. Their struggles, and how they dealt with them. Their families. Just . . . everything! This book had it all. I laughed with them, I cried for them, I swooned over them, and I fell hopelessly in love with their story.

Nothing has come easy for these characters, but they never once let that get in the way of living their lives to the absolute fullest, which in turn, has given us one heck of a story to read about. It was fun, fast paced, sexy, and oh so satisfying. I’m so sad that’s over now, and I really, really hope that at some point in the future, the author decides to revisit this series and let us know how our favourite characters are doing after we leave them. It would definitely be a book that I would pick up.

There’s only one way to fall when it comes to this series, and that is in love.

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

image

Love listening to the songs that inspired the story? Then check out the Five Ways To Fall playlist as chosen by author K.A. Tucker!

No Diggity vs Thrift Shop by Ed Sheeran, featuring Passenger — This song plays in my head when I picture Reese sitting on the patio at the Bayside Café, devouring her chocolate pecan pie. And spying.

Call Me by Serena Ryder — I love the rich, throaty voice of Serena Ryder and the song’s edginess so I thought it was the perfect song for Reese to sing at the bar the night she’s trying to impress Jared

The Freshman (acoustic version) by The Verve Pipe — When I needed to pick something for Reese to sing to Ben that night on the phone (while he’s driving and he asks her to keep him awake), this song instantly came to mind.

Albatross by Big Wreck — In my head, Ben and Reese are racing down the paths in their dune buggy at the Bernard Morris Groves, with the sun shining and this song playing in the background.

image

TEN TINY BREATHS (#1) – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

ONE TINY LIE (#2) – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

FOUR SECONDS TO LOSE (#3) – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

FIVE WAYS TO FALL (#4) – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

IN HER WAKE (#0.5) – Out September!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

Up for grabs is a Kindle, and three signed copies of FIVE WAYS TO FALL. Giveaway is open internationally.

image

image

20140628-135205-49925082.jpg

Born in small-town Ontario, Kathleen published her first book at the age of six with the help of her elementary school librarian and a box of crayons. She is a voracious reader and the farthest thing from a genre-snob, loving everything from High Fantasy to Chick Lit. Kathleen currently resides in a quaint small town outside of Toronto with her husband, two beautiful girls, and an exhausting brood of four-legged creatures.

Blog | Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Booktropolous | Instagram

Leave a Reply

