New Review – Blog Tour: ROGUE by Katy Evans

20140730-232520-84320688.jpg

Katy Evans is back, and this time with a brand new hero! Check out my review and full series buying links, including pre-order for the 5th and final book RIPPED!

Title: Rogue
Series: Real, #4
Author: Katy Evans
Genre: Contemporary Romance

20140730-232906-84546269.jpg

image

Book 4 of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Real series.

HE SAYS HE’S NO GOOD FOR HER.
SHE HATES THAT HE MIGHT BE RIGHT.

Brook Dumas found Remington Tate in REAL, and now it’s her best friend Melanie’s turn to find the man who makes her heart sing. After years of searching, one night in the rain, the strong and mysterious Greyson King comes to her rescue. He’s bold, and maybe just the lover, friend, and protector she’s been searching for. When they make love, he says her name like it means something. Like she means something—and that’s everything she’s ever wanted.

He disappears for days without a word, and when he’s around, he says he’ll only hurt her. Buy when he’s away, her heart hurts more.

Then Melanie uncovers the dark world he’d been determined to keep hidden, and suspects that their random first meeting might have not been so random after all.

Caught in a free fall of emotions, Melanie has no one to catch her but the man she should be running from. . .

But what do you do when your Prince Charming has gone Rogue?

image

Since the wonderful Katy Evans first released her debut novel REAL, I have stalked her social media religiously for any news on new releases. Remington Tate made quite the impact on my book loving heart, and I completely fell in love with each book she wrote about him. When she announced that the fourth book in the series would be about characters other than Brook and Remy, I was a little sad, but also excited to see if she could make me fall in love with someone else.

So now we have Brook’s BFF Melanie, and newcomer Greyson.

In previous books in the series, Melanie was a fun loving, funny girl – the scene in MINE where she dresses as a granny and pushes a dolled up Brook in a wheelchair is still to this day one of my favourite scenes from the entire series! But for me, she seemed completely different in ROGUE, even coming across very adolescent at times, and saying things that I would expect from someone in high school. Sometimes I guess we do say things like she said in jest, but in text they don’t come across that way, and I think that’s what happened here.

Now for the leading man. What can I say about Greyson King? He was an intense kind of guy. Sexy. Built. And he was shrouded in mystery. Who doesn’t love those things in their book boyfriends?? I did really like him, and found myself much more interested in his character, and POV than I did Melanie’s. I think he moved the book along better than Melanie did, as she was a bit all over the place. Though I have to say, Greyson likes to talk sexy, but some of the things he said were most definitely not sexy, and in fact made me cringe and think ‘what big beefy guy says stuff like that???

The concept for the book, I absolutely loved!!! I won’t say what it is because I want you to find out how I did, but I have to admit, I didn’t get into this story until 12% when the link between the characters was mentioned, and it was at that point that I sat up and took notice. For the majority of the book unfortunately the book focused more on the sex than the story. I wasn’t really into those scenes at all, and it wasn’t until the last 30% that I was officially hooked.

That part of the book was superb, and I did not want it to end. I found myself wishing that the rest of the book had been like that, because this was the Katy Evans magic that I knew and loved. I honestly cannot praise the end of the book enough, and I’m hoping with everything I have that the author continues the next book (Pandora’s book) the with the same style and flow, because that was ROGUE’s saving grace for me.

So next up and ending the series is Pandora – Brook and Melanie’s bitchy, goth friend. I can’t say I’m a fan of her right now, but by the looks of it, she is one broken girl. I’m looking forward to finding out how she became that way, and who will put the pieces of her heart back together. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for more Evans excellence.

image

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

image

REAL #1 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

MINE #2 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

REMY #3 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook | US Paperback

ROGUE #4 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

RIPPED #5 – Out December!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Booktropolous | Instagram

Leave a Reply

