New Review – ONE NIGHT: PROMISED by Jodi Ellen Malpas

ONE NIGHT: PROMISED by Jodi Ellen Malpas is now officially LIVE everywhere!! Have you picked up your copy yet?

Title: Promised
Series: One Night #1
Author: Jodi Ellen Malpas
Genre: Erotic
Age: Adult

20140805-212910-77350740.jpg

image

Livy notices him the moment he walks into the coffee shop. He’s heart-stoppingly stunning, with a blue-eyed gaze so piercing she’s almost too distracted to take his order. When he walks out the door, she thinks she’ll never see him again. Then she finds the note he left on his napkin . . . signed M.

All he wants is one night to worship her. No feelings, no commitment, nothing but pleasure. Every defense mechanism Livy has adopted during her solitary life is at risk of being obliterated by this confounding man. He’s obnoxious but well-mannered. He’s a gentleman but aloof. He’s passionate but emotionless. Yet the fascination is so powerful, Livy can’t deny him… or herself.

M awakens something in Livy, something deep and addictive that she never knew existed — and that she fears only he can satisfy. But she senses that behind the fast cars, fancy suits, and posh apartment, he’s aching inside. To have him, body and soul, she’ll have to brave his dark secrets. Delving into his world and breaking down his defenses become her obsession – an obsession that could shatter her heart beyond repair…

image

I’m a little bit ashamed to admit that I still haven’t read the much loved THIS MAN series by this author yet. I know, I know! I do have them on my bookshelf, and they are on my Summer Reading List because I’m constantly hearing about how great they are, but as of yet, I have no clue about Jesse Ward.

To make up for my JEM downfall, I bought and read ONE NIGHT: PROMISED as soon as it went LIVE in the UK. I mean, how could I not?? Everyone always raves about her previous series, and early readers were practically screaming from the rooftops about this one, so it was a no brainier!

But I think the problem with reading a book by an author that has a very vocal, loyal following is that your expectations can be set too high. And when your expectations are high, it’s easy to be disappointed. And I kind of was with this book. I did enjoy it, don’t get me wrong, but if I’m honest (which I always am when it comes to books) I was hoping for a lot better.

There were moments with certain characters that had me laughing out loud (mostly nan – she was hilarious!), fanning myself (hello, M!), and just generally enjoying myself, but those moments were few and far between, and the storyline as a whole moved at a fairly slow pace, leaving me at times feeling a little bored. But thankfully, I’m a fan of mysteries. If there’s a mystery to be solved, then I thrive to solve it, and M was shrouded in it!

Secrets, secrets, secrets. M keeps quite a few locked away. Who keeps ringing him?? Where does he keep running off to? Why does he keep going there? And what is he doing??? My mind was working a mile a minute because I knew there was something big. It’s all ARC readers were going on about. Being shocked/surprised at the end of the book.

But I seem to have a habit of working things out pretty quickly, and it wasn’t too long before things started clicking together. I got it. By page 145 I knew. I even messaged my friend to see if I was right before deciding I didn’t want to know yet.

(Spoiler free private message)

20140805-211227-76347064.jpg

This added one heck of a twist to the series, and put together with a few other twists and turns had me very much looking forward to the next book in the series due out November. But until then, I’m going to keep myself busy with Mr. Ward.

image

image

ONE NIGHT: PROMISED #1 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

ONE NIGHT: DENIED #2 – Out November!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback |
(pre-order unavailable from the US)

ONE NIGHT: (currently untitled) #3 – Out January!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback |
(pre-order unavailable from the US)

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Booktropolous | Instagram

Leave a Reply

