New Review – FAKING IT by Cora Carmack

IMG_0782.JPG

Another day, a state to visit on #Route69, and today we are in Philadelphia with Max and Cade from Faking It by Cora Carmack.

IMG_1035.JPG

image

Mackenzie “Max” Miller has a problem. Her parents have arrived in town for a surprise visit, and if they see her dyed hair, tattoos, and piercings, they just might disown her. Even worse, they’re expecting to meet a nice, wholesome boyfriend, not a guy named Mace who has a neck tattoo and plays in a band. All her lies are about to come crashing down around her, but then she meets Cade.

Cade moved to Philadelphia to act and to leave his problems behind in Texas. So far though, he’s kept the problems and had very little opportunity to take the stage. When Max approaches him in a coffee shop with a crazy request to pretend to be her boyfriend, he agrees to play the part. But when Cade plays the role a little too well, they’re forced to keep the ruse going. And the more they fake the relationship, the more real it begins to feel.

image

I wasn’t really expecting Cora Carmack to be able to top Losing It, and especially not with good boy Cade, but it’s safe to say that this is my absolute favourite book by Ms. Carmack to date. She has a way with telling a story that brings it to life, and let’s you live within the pages, and that’s exactly what I did as I read it.

Bad boys have always been my thing. Sure, I liked good guy Garrick (though Losing It did have a little smidge of taboo-ness about it), but I really didn’t have high hopes for Cade finding a place in my heart. To be honest I only read Faking It because of how much I loved Losing It. But when I got to have a closer look at him? All bets were off.

Oh boy, oh boy, I was in book boyfriend heaven with Cade! I freaking loved him so much that as soon as I had finished reading, I was begging the author for more. Faking It is the only novel in the series that is told in dual POV, which means yay for getting really up close and personal with Cade, but boo that it means there’s no need for a Cade POV novella. (Well, according to the author anyway, but pfft, what does she know??)

Very few good guys make it through to my book boyfriend collection, but Cade is firmly wedged in there, holding his own, and that is one of the reasons why Faking It is my favourite book from this entire series. The other reasons? The fabulous storyline, the witty banter, the romance, the writing, and the heroine. Max was one kissass heroine!

I really loved her. She was cool, and sassy, and sexy in her own way. She was fun, and fiery, and strong minded, but she also had a bit of a vulnerable side, and I loved exploring everything that made Mackenzie “Max”. Her story had it’s share of emotion, and it was that, along with the humour and heat, that made this one heck of a book, and one I would recommend to everyone, whether you have read Losing It or not. (But you really should read Losing It because it’s flipping hilarious!)

Go buy this book right now, and see for yourself how this good boy, worked his way into my bad boy loving heart. You won’t regret it.

image

image

LOSING IT #1 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

KEEPING HER #1.5 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

FAKING IT #2 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

FINDING IT #3 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

SEEKING HER #3.5 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Booktropolous | Instagram

Leave a Reply

