New Review and Signed Giveaway – SLAMMED by Colleen Hoover

IMG_1669-0.JPG

Today’s stop on #Route69 is in Michigan with my favourite fictional couple, Will and Layken from Slammed by Colleen Hoover, and I’m giving away a signed copy!

IMG_2080.JPG

image

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

image

Slammed was the very first book I read by Colleen Hoover. I’d finally got back in to reading, and it was Amazon’s suggestion that I buy this new book, along with it’s sequel, Point Of Retreat. So I did. The morning they arrived in the post, I settled down to read. And boy, did I read. In fact I read for six straight hours, devouring both books. I didn’t stop until I turned the very last page on the second book.

So what was it about this author and these books that had me hooked? I have no freaking idea. It was just . . . everything! Colleen Hoover’s writing flows so effortlessly and beautifully that I’m still to this day shocked that it was her debut novel. How do you go from never writing anything, to writing that??? The pull she has with her readers is so strong, and once you’ve read one, you have this insatiable need to read more from her. That is pure talent, and Colleen has in bucket loads.

So as I said, I’d only just started reading again, and I was bingeing on romance novels. I obviously hadn’t even bothered to read the synopsis because I remember getting to the part where Will takes Layken to Club N9NE, and I thought… Poetry??? He’s into poetry??? How freaking lame is that??? I was honestly expecting it to turn into a really cheesy, boring book, and I was ready to give up as soon it happened. But it didn’t. It did the unexpected.

The Slam Poetry was different to anything I’d been forced to read in school. That, I found dull and lifeless. This, I found brought to life with emotion and passion. As did Layken, I found myself getting lost in the words of these young poets, and I learnt a lot about the different characters from them. Especially Will. His poems… Wow. They were definitely something else.

The storyline was ever engaging, and it was impossible to just stop reading. The devastation surrounding Will and Layken’s families was heartbreaking, and I prayed, as the twists and turns appeared, that things would finally start looking up for them. The author certainly takes you on an emotion filled ride with this novel (in fact all of her novels), but she balances it out with a breathtaking romance, fantastic characters, comedic moments, and the heartwarming notion that family doesn’t always mean blood.

It’s been a long time since I read this book, and since then I’ve read and reread every single book Colleen Hoover has written and released. She’s become one of the very few (and I mean 4, or 5) authors who I will read absolutely everything they publish, without even needing to read the synopsis, because I just know that it will blow me away. If you haven’t read these books yet, then what are you waiting for?? Will and Layken are not only my favourite CoHo couple, but my favourite ever fictional couple. And you need to see why.

image

image

SLAMMED #1 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

POINT OF RETREAT #2 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

THIS GIRL #3 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

Up for grabs is one signed copy of SLAMMED. Giveaway is open internationally, and will run for the duration of #Route69. Winner will be announced on September 1st.

image

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Booktropolous | Instagram

2 thoughts on “New Review and Signed Giveaway – SLAMMED by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

