New Review – BEAUTIFUL OBLIVION by Jamie McGuire

Have you been acquainted with Travis Maddox’s sexy older older brother Trent yet? Don’t leave him waiting . . .

Title: Beautiful Oblivion
Series: The Maddox Brothers #1
Author: Jamie McGuire
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Release Date: July 1st, 2014

IMG_1938.JPG

image

The Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster phenomenon continues in the first heart-pounding new adult romance in The Maddox Brothers series.

Fiercely independent Camille “Cami” Camlin gladly moved on from her childhood before it was over. She has held down a job since before she could drive, and moved into her own apartment after her freshman year of college. Now tending bar at The Red Door, Cami doesn’t have time for much else besides work and classes, until a trip to see her boyfriend is cancelled, leaving her with a first weekend off in almost a year.

Trenton Maddox was the king of Eastern State University, dating co-eds before he even graduated high school. His friends wanted to be him, and women wanted to tame him, but after a tragic accident turned his world upside down, Trenton leaves campus to come to grips with the crushing guilt.

Eighteen months later, Trenton is living at home with his widower father, and works full-time at a local tattoo parlor to help with the bills. Just when he thinks his life is returning to normal, he notices Cami sitting alone at a table at The Red.

As the baby sister of four rowdy brothers, Cami believes she’ll have no problem keeping her new friendship with Trenton Maddox strictly platonic. But when a Maddox boy falls in love, he loves forever—even if she is the only reason their already broken family could fall apart.

In the first installment of the Maddox Brothers books, readers can experience the rush of reading Beautiful Disaster for the first time, all over again.

image

I loved Beautiful Disaster. So much so that it is one of the most read books that I own. As much as I love Travis, Trent has always stood out for me, and so when Jamie McGuire announced that each of the Maddox brothers were getting their own books, I fangirled like crazy! It was one of my most anticipated releases of the year and I was desperate to get my hands on him. I mean, it 😉

But…I know, I know…there’s a pretty huge but… It didn’t meet my expectations. And to be fair, after Walking Disaster, and A Beautiful Wedding – neither of which I loved – my expectations were very mixed anyway. I was prepared for Trent to take me over like Travis did, but I was also prepared to not enjoy it.

Now, Trent did take me over like his younger brother had previously done. I absolutely LOVED him!!! He was all charm and sexiness, and completely loveable. I’m not sure if it’s possible for anyone to not love him! And I really liked Cami too. She was a pretty kickass chick, and she didn’t drive me nuts like Abby did.

And then there was the boy wonder himself – Travis!!! As this book was set around the time of Beautiful Disaster, we get to see some new scenes with Travis and watch him hung up over Abby. I have to say, these were possibly my favourite. Seeing him scoff and say, “Nobody gets married at nineteen!” made me snicker and think, “just you wait, Trav, just you wait.” I certainly miss that boy!

But – yes, there it is again – the plot wasn’t all that great. It lacked that pull that Beautiful disaster (and even McGuire’s Providence series) had, and as for the big twist that shook everyone up at the very end…I got it on the first page. And I promise you that isn’t a lie. It was just too obvious to me!

Also, being that I’ve read Beautiful Disaster countless times, I’m pretty good at spotting quotes from it, and in Beautiful Oblivion, Trent and Cami were saying some of the exact same things that Travis and Abby said in BD. Also, the peacock feather on the front cover? It could have been incorporated in the story much better.

All in all, I was an enjoyable read – I’m in the minority with my rating and feelings – and I think I’ll possibly give this author one more shot with the next Maddox Brothers book. If I’m not a fan of that, then I’ll stick to BD and Providence to get my fix.

IMG_2228.JPG

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

BEAUTIFUL OBLIVION (#1) – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

image

Jamie McGuire was born in Tulsa, OK. She attended the Northern Oklahoma College, the University of Central Oklahoma, and Autry Technology Center where she graduated with a degree in Radiography.Her most recent novel, Walking Disaster debuted at #1 on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestseller lists.

She has also written bestselling contemporary romance Beautiful Disaster, and the Providence series.Jamie now lives in Enid, OK with her three children and husband Jeff, who is a real, live cowboy. They share their 30 acres with six horses, three dogs, and Rooster the cat.

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Booktropolous | Instagram

Leave a Reply

