Holly’s Hot Reads Exclusive – Author Interview with Monica Murphy

IMG_2720.JPG

The wonderful and fabulous Monica Murphy stops by for an exclusive interview at Holly’s Hot Reads! I love this author, and she’s one of the nicest people I’ve had the pleasure of meeting. Check out what she has to say about the success of One Week Girlfriend, her nerves surrounding her latest release, and 7 minutes in heaven with a sexy fictional man!

IMG_2721.JPG

Q: Owning Violet is the start of a brand new series! What can Monica Murphy fans – and new readers – expect from The Fowler Sisters series?

A: Well, The Fowler Sisters series is very, very sexy, full of intrigue and lies and naughtiness. There are three sisters: Lily, Violet and Rose. And of course, the sexy men who come into their lives and turn them completely upside down.

Q: You write under two names: Monica Murphy and Karen Erickson. Do you find it difficult juggling the two? And how do you decide which books to write under which name?

A: It can be difficult juggling two, especially at first. When I released ONE WEEK GIRLFRIEND as Monica, I had zero expectations and figured if it did well, it would take awhile. So I believed I had time and instead, it took off like crazy and that became difficult because Karen had releases and deadlines. 2013 was crazy chaotic. I’ve found more balance this year and hope to manage it even better in 2015.

Oh, and how I decide to write which books under which name is fairly simple – Monica writes darker, angst-filled romance and new adult in first person POV. Karen writes sexy contemporary romance in third person POV.

Q: I REALLY love your books, and so many different passages are highlighted on my kindle – do you have a favourite quote and/or scene out of all of your books?

A: That’s so tough! It’s hard for me to choose a favorite. I always seem to have a favorite in the book I’m currently working on. Can I admit (I feel like a tease LOL) that I love, love Rose’s hero Caden in STEALING ROSE? He’s completely different compared to Ryder. Still a bad boy but sweeter. Still keeping secrets but he feels like he has to. I think he might be my favorite hero of the series. (<—Oooh, I’m looking forward to getting to know Caden.)

I will say that OWG is full of good quotes. I don’t even know where all of that came from. The story just poured out of me like I had no control of it. Drew says some pretty swoon-worthy things. Heh, I talk about him like he’s real. (<—well, he is pretty damn fine ;))

Q: The One Week Girlfriend series has a HUGE following. It’s one of my personal favourite New Adult series, and Drew and Fable will always hold a special place in my heart. Do you get nervous as to whether or not the fans will take to a new series with different characters?

A: Absolutely I get nervous. I know so many people adore Drew + Fable and I do too but I hope people will love the new characters I create as well. It always takes time, and I know I won’t always make readers happy but that’s okay. I just keep on keepin’ on. *winks*

Q: You’re not only a writer, but also a reader. Which author do you fangirl over the most?

A: Jill Shalvis. I’m sure she thinks I’m an idiot stalker. I always mention her in interviews, I say hi to her at conferences and secretly want to throw myself at her and tell her how much I love her writing.

I also fangirled over Jude Deveraux at RT in 2013. I read a bunch of her books when I was a teen and she’s one of the reasons I became a romance writer. I could hardly get a word out when I met her. I’m such a dork.

Q: You have an array of author friends offering you very advance copies of their books (don’t think I’ve forgotten your teasing about reading Dirty Rowdy Thing by Christina Lauren in London last July). Are there any books you’ve read recently that we should definitely add to our TBR’s? And what book are you most excited to read when you have chance?

A: Having author friends who give you early copies of their books is such a perk! LOL Okay, Katy Evans (my critique partner) has a new series starting in March (and I don’t think I’m allowed to share the name of the book yet but I will say that it’s amazing!!) so add that to your TBR. Chanel Cleeton has a new political NA series coming out in 2015 and the first book (FLIRTING WITH SCANDAL) is awesome. Hmm…Ellie Cahill’s WHEN JOSS MET MATT is a cute NA story – I believe it comes out in March. Oh and I read BREAKING THE RULES by Katie McGarry (I am a HUGE fangirl of Katie’s!) and loved LOVED it! (<— GAH!!! I’m so jealous over Breaking The Rules! I love Noah and Echo!!!!)

Q: We all have our favourite fictional men, but if you had 7 minutes in heaven with one book boyfriend, who would you choose?

A: Oh crap. This is so tough. All right I won’t choose any of the ones I created but my all time favorite hero is Cameron Wilder from Jill Shalvis’ INSTANT ATTRACTION. He’s so growly and grumpy and sexy. I’d definitely max out my seven minutes with him. Ha ha. (<— Growly and sexy are my favourite combination ;))

Q: We’re nearly in 2015!!! You’ve had an amazing few years career wise. What has been your most standout moment? And what plans do you have for the following year?

A: Well, the whirlwind success of the OWG series was huge to me. Those first few weeks when it came out and all the reviews, the reader response…it was overwhelming and awesome and humbling. I’m so thankful readers responded so well to the books.

Both Monica and Karen have books coming out in 2015. The rest of The Fowler Sisters (STEALING ROSE AND TAMING LILY) come out in March and July. Karen has a new sexy novella series about three friends in Vegas and the very sexy, very famous men they meet (series is called Vegas Nights and the kickoff novella WICKED WEEKEND comes out 12/23 – and it’s FREE at all retailers!). Plus there are some secret Monica things in the works that I will reveal soon… (Yes!!! I’ve seen Wicked Weekend, and it looks fab!)

Q: Theres a theme in books where the character/s have secrets, but as we know, they always get revealed in the end. As we’ve come to the end of our interview, do you have a secret that you can reveal?

A: Yes. I am really a man, baby, yeah. (I just stole that line from Austin Powers, sorry LOL).

No, no huge secrets. I’m just a mom and a wife who sits at her computer and writes stories all day. I’m pretty lucky to have a career in something I love so much.

Thank you so much for stopping by to answer these questions, Monica! ❤

Thank you for having me Holly! It’s always a pleasure. 🙂

image

OWNING VIOLET #1 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

STEALING ROSE #2 – Out March 3rd, 2015!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

TAMING LILY #3 – Out July 7th, 2015!
Goodreads | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

image

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite. A wife and mother of three, she writes New Adult and contemporary romance for Bantam and Avon. She is the author of One Week Girlfriend and Second Chance Boyfriend.

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

