New Review – POCKETFUL OF SAND by M Leighton





This book… So many emotions. You’ve just got to read it.



image

“She’s beauty for my ashes. And I’m hope for her heartache.”—Cole Danzer

I don’t know what makes a great love story. Is it that instant attraction when boy meets girl? The passionate kisses and the fairy-tale ending? Or is it a lifetime of tragedy, paid in advance, for a few stolen moments of pure bliss? The pain and the suffering that, in the end, you can say are worth it for having found the missing piece of your soul?

The answer is: I don’t know. I don’t know what makes a great love story. I only know what makes my love story. I only know that finding Cole when I did, when Emmy and I were running from a nightmare, was the only thing that saved me. That saved us. He was more broken than I was, but somehow we took each other’s shattered pieces and made a whole. If that is what makes a great love story, if that is what makes an epic romance, then mine…ours is the greatest of them all.

*Contains material that some may find disturbing. Not intended for readers under the age of 18.*

image

“Please make my life mean something again.”

******

I swear, with each new book that M Leighton releases, they get more and more emotion filled. Pocketful Of Sand had me feeling ALL the feels, and then some! You’re definitely in for a surprise with this book.

Though the book doesn’t contain a lot of sex, it’s undoubtedly sexy, and once again this author gives us an unforgettable scene involving an unassuming object. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to eat bacon again without having a naughty little giggle.

Now onto the characters. Cole… I cannot resist a tortured soul, and Cole Danzer was so very easy to allow into my heart. This broken man’s story both wrecked me, and filled me with so much love and happiness. But his story wasn’t the only harrowing one.

Eden and Emmy… Their past was devastating. At one point, I knew what was coming and I had to put my iPad down and I just sat there with my hands over my face, trying to psych myself up to reading what I desperately didn’t want these characters to have gone through.

But even through all the pain and heartache, there is a truly beautiful love story. One that I definitely won’t be forgetting anytime soon. And this leads me on to my next point. I was in two minds whether to discuss this, but I think I need to (NO SPOILERS!!) in case you see something from another reader.

At 95%, the story pauses. The author gives you the choice of two doors. Door one, takes you to Cole and Eden’s HEA. And it’s perfection. Door two, takes you to an ending that leads on to a continuing story for these characters. This was one heck of a mind fuck.

Don’t like cliffhangers and such? Then read the HEA. When the sequel releases, go back and read the second ending, so you can then continue straight on to the rest of their story. Or if you’re like me, and completely greedy for more words, read both!

To say I’m eagerly awaiting book two is a major understatement.

image

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

POCKETFUL OF SAND – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

