New Review – ASA by Jay Crownover


 

Dear Jay Crownover,

In early January 2013 you stole a piece of my heart with your self published debut novel Rule, and over the last two years you’ve taken a bigger piece with every book you’ve released. You never fail to hold my attention and keep a section of my heart firmly reserved for your Marked Men. Book boyfriends may come and go, but Rule, Jet, Rome, Nash, Rowdy and now Asa, will always be special to me, and I will be forever thankful that I took a chance on this little known book on Amazon that had a hot, tattooed guy gracing the cover. It was the start of my tattooed, bad boy addiction. Diving into Asa was always going to be bittersweet; I cried twice before I even reached the first chapter, and I’m turning into a bit of a mess just writing this now. But I needed you to know that I appreciate you and everything you’ve given us so very much. The Marked Men may have come to an end but I’m so excited to stay on this journey with you and the Saints Of Denver.

I love you and I can’t wait to finally meet you at Four Brits Book Fest next year–I apologise in advance for the tears.

Holly ❤

 

image

Jay Crownover’s New York Times and USA Today bestselling Marked Men series continues with the much anticipated story of southern charmer and certified criminal Asa Cross.

Starting over in Denver with a whole new circle of friends and family, Asa Cross struggles with being the man he knows everyone wants him to be and the man he knows he really is. A leopard doesn’t it change its spots and Asa has always been a predator. He doesn’t want to hurt those who love and rely on him, especially one luscious arresting cop who suddenly seems to be interested in him for far more than his penchant for breaking the law. But letting go of old habits is hard, and it’s easy to hit bottom when it’s the place you know best.

Royal Hastings is quickly learning what the bottom looks like after a tragic situation at work threatens not only her career but her partner’s life. As a woman who has only ever had a few real friends she’s trying to muddle through her confusion and devastation all alone. Except she can’t stop thinking about the sexy southern bartender she locked up. Crushing on Asa is the last thing she needs but his allure is too strong to resist. His long criminal record can only hurt her already shaky career and chasing after a guy who has no respect for the law or himself can only end in heartbreak.

A longtime criminal and a cop together just seems so wrong . . . but for Asa and Royal, being wrong together is the only right choice to make.

image

“Eventually we all need someone to try and save us; even if they fail, the fact that someone tried might be what matters most in the end.”

Over the last two years I have lived and loved through six Marked Men books, but none compare to the final book in this series that quickly worked its way into my favourites. Asa is a book that had me gripped and feeling all the feels possible from heartache to happiness and from sexiness to adoration.

It was obvious the path to every decadent sin led right through Asa Cross, and man oh man, did I want to race down it.

Asa–the man–really did break my heart. But not how you’d probably think. Asa knows he wasn’t a good person in the past; he did so many terrible things, but the past doesn’t have to define him, and I was desperate for him to realise his worth. Royal was absolutely the perfect person to set him on the right track.

“Allow yourself to love someone fully, Asa. It’s what will finally set you free from the past.”

I loved watching their relationship develop and see them face the struggles that plagued them. Asa is easily my number one Marked Man and Royal has taken the crown of my top female character, while Asa, the book, is officially my favourite of the entire series. I was incredibly sad to see it come to an end but it honestly couldn’t have ended in a better way, or at a more perfect time.

“You made this second chance I got at life worth living.”

If you’re a fan of this series like myself then I have no doubt that you will not only fall in love with the Southern Charmer, but your excitement for the first book in the Saints Of Denver series will double! As always, Jay Crowner’s stunning writing, wit, and talent for storytelling shone from the pages of this novel and left me with a full heart, a big grin, and tears in my eyes. It was perfection, pure and simple.

“The cop and the criminal. Who would have ever seen that coming?”

image

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

******

And just because my copy of Asa is so full of highlights, I decided to add a few more of my favourites below.

It was an interesting juxtaposition that such a beautifully crafted shell held so much ugliness and self-loathing on the inside.

***

Even the bad moments with her had been better than great moments I had shared with anyone else.

***

“I know you said you woke up from that coma for me, but you haven’t been living, and I think Royal might be the one to finally give you a reason to start.”

***

We were marked and had been marked in unforgettable and forever ways. We were all better men for it. Marked men. None of us would have it any other way.

******

image

RULE #1 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

JET #2 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

ROME #3 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

NASH #4 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

ROWDY #5 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

ASA #6 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

image

image

Jay Crownover is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men series. She will also be introducing the dark and sexy world of The Point in a new series this summer starting with Better When He’s Bad. Like her characters, she is a big fan of tattoos. She loves music and wishes she could be a rock star, but since she has no aptitude for singing or instrument playing, she’ll settle for writing stories with interesting characters that make the reader feel something. She lives in Colorado with her three dogs.

Facebook | Twitter | Website | Goodreads

******

Want your chance to win a $100 Amazon or Barnes and Noble gift card?? Enter below!

image

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

