New Review – Blog Tour: UNDER THE INFLUENCE by LB Simmons

Travis and Abby. Clay and Maggie. Lochan and Maya. They all have one thing in common. A love strong enough to have you finding hope in a seemingly hopeless situation. Couples whose stories leave a lasting impression on your heart, from both the good and bad in them. I have a new couple to add to that list now. Find out about Dalton and Spencer, in Under The Influence by LB Simmons, just 99c for a limited time.

image

Dalton,
I loved you once. A love I thought irrevocable. A love I mistakenly believed could transcend both time and circumstance. Under the influence of my dimwitted, naïve, traitorous heart, I became intoxicated with what I now know was simply a figment of my self-indulgent imagination. So drunk on the feeling, I couldn’t see what was right in front of my face. So foolishly enamored, I blindly followed my heart into the depths of an emotion that would ravage me.
Years later, I know now what I wish I knew then. I am stronger. Smarter. Tougher. I will not allow myself to be broken again.
I loved you.
I raged for you.
I wept for you.
And now, I’m letting you go.

Author’s Note: Under the Influence is the journey of two childhood friends that spans the course of five pivotal years in their lives. It is a story about their discovery of true friendship as it blossoms into first love, their experience of crucial sacrifice and ultimate betrayal, and their endurance of agonizing heartbreak on the way to finding lasting redemption.

image

“I won’t give up on you. I will never stop believing in you. And I will continue to fight for you until the day I die, because without you here…” She removes her hand from my lips, bringing my palm to lie flat on her own chest. “I do not exist.”

LB Simmons doesn’t release books all too often, but when she does release them, they are something not to be missed. Each book/series is different from the last, and Under The Influence is absolutely no different! The opening chapter drew me in and had me devouring the whole book in no time at all.

Dalton and Spencer (Spencer is a girl, in case you were wondering!) have one of those intense and epic love stories that are few and far between. The kind of love that can span a decade (and longer!), be spent apart, and still be so strong it makes your heart ache.

Though it comes across straight away that Dalton has not only a disturbing past, but also a troubling present, there are many twists and turns along the way that add even more intensity to the story that is so brilliantly written by the very talented LB Simmons. Revelations which have you praying even harder for these two broken souls who could only ever be whole when they are together.

I felt like the ending was maybe slightly rushed, I would have liked it to play out a little longer to get the full effect, but other than that, it was perfection from start to finish, which is exactly what I’ve come to expect from an LB Simmons novel. Dalton and Spencer’s story is one which will stay with me for a very long time to come.

“See, I told you. You’re a hero. You chased the pain away.”

image

UNDER THE INFLUENCE – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

image

L.B. Simmons is a graduate of Texas AM University and holds a degree in Biomedical Science. She has been a practicing Chemist for the last 11 years. She lives with her husband and three daughters in Texas and writes every chance she gets.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter | Amazon

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

