New Review – WHAT IF by Rebecca Donovan

What If by Rebecca Donovan released last year. Check out my review and if you haven’t already, you should really buy this book!

image

A new novel by the USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of The Breathing Series . . .

What if you had a second chance to meet someone for the first time?

Cal Logan is shocked to see Nicole Bentley sitting across from him at a coffee shop thousands of miles from their hometown. After all, no one has seen or heard from her since they graduated over a year ago.

Except this girl isn’t Nicole.

She looks exactly like Cal’s shy childhood crush, but her name is Nyelle Preston and she has no idea who he is. This girl is impulsive and daring, her passion for life infectious. The complete opposite of Nicole. Cal finds himself utterly fascinated-and falling hard. But Nyelle is also extremely secretive. And the closer he comes to finding out what she’s hiding, the less he wants to know.

When the secrets from the past and present collide, one thing becomes clear: Nothing is what it seems.

image

When I pick a book up by Rebecca Donovan, you can guarantee that my day will be cancelled. I Will do absolutely nothing but sit and not just read, but live the book. She manages to drain me of just about every emotion possible, just in the course of one novel.

As much as I love reading her books, I hate when it comes time to review them because what could I possibly say that would even come close to explaining this authors talent? Even the word “talent” itself doesn’t seem enough.

What If just blew me away. There was no way I could put it down, even if I tried. I Loved the mystery to it. I had constant theories running through my head. I loved experiencing the story from the multiple POVs, and getting a deeper understanding of the characters. I loved the friendships, the romance, the emotion… I can honestly say that there wasn’t anything that I didn’t love.

Before reading What If it had been so long since I’d cried at a book, I’d had friends questioning if I had a pulse. But What If made it happen. Such a beautiful, cleverly told story. Rebecca Donovan takes my breath away with every novel, and this was no exception. Perfection, from beginning to end.

“How’s your hand feel?” I try to get a look at it, but it’s concealed by the cutoff knit glove. “I can’t feel it,” she mutters, her eyes sliding shut. “But he never saw me coming,” she says in a rush of air, like it’s taking all of her energy to talk. Her weight settles into my side, and I can feel her fall asleep. “I bet,” I say with a quiet laugh, glancing down at her face squished against my arm. I never saw her coming either.

image

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

WHAT IF – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

image

Rebecca Donovan is the USA Today bestselling author of the highly-acclaimed New Adult trilogy, The Breathing Series. Her novels include: Reason to Breathe, Barely Breathing, and Out of Breath.

Rebecca is a graduate of the University of Missouri -Columbia and lives in a quiet town in Massachusetts with her son. Excited by all that makes life possible, she is a music enthusiast and is willing to try just about anything once.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

