New Review – BEFORE & AFTER by Nazarea Andrews


Brand new from Nazarea Andrews, Before & After is perfect for all lovers of second chance romances.

image

Rike and Peyton fell in love in college.

A boy from the wrong side of the tracks, covered in ink and crooning in a bar is the last person a straight laced girl with a art major should fall for, but his rough edges made her jagged, alive, shaving away the coddled southern princess and revealing a soul wild and brilliant.

They fell in love, despite her family and his past and all the reasons why it wouldn’t work–and with their best friends, they made a life. Everyone was supposed to live happily ever after.
They, more than anyone, knows that life doesn’t go according to plan.

Rike and Peyton fell in love in college. A boy with a guitar, and a poet’s heart, and a girl with freckles dusted over her nose, a perfect fucking fairy tale.

But what happens when the fairy tale doesn’t fall apart–but is forgotten?

image

“You’re it. My always. You forget me, and walk away and I would love you still.”

First, look at that cover; second, look at that synopsis. You can see why I was excited to read this book, even without the fact that Nazarea Andrews is one of my Ultimate Authors. I’ve loved everything this versatile author tries her hand at, and Before & After was no different.

Told in dual POV with Rike leading “before” in alternating chapters with Peyton’s “after”, I loved how it was all set out. Rike told the perfect, sexy, love story, whilst Peyton’s chapters were laced with sadness, confusion, and hope.

Their pasts, though vastly different, shared one thing. Neither of them felt as though they belonged. Peyton with her political, overbearing family, and Rike flitting from place to place. But then they met. Best mates and roommates, it didn’t take Rike and Scotty long to find a home with Peyton and Lindsey. But it didn’t end there.

Unfortunately for these characters (but fortunately for me–I love a good dose of drama and turmoil!) their happily ever afters were a long way off. In a twist of events, all 4 friends are left broken, and afraid of an uncertain future, and Rike is set with the task of making Peyton fall in love with him all over again. And the only way to find out if they do get their HEA? You better get reading 😉

I wish the book had been longer. It comes in at around 200 pages so it’s a super quick read, and I would have liked a bit more exploration of certain things: a more in depth look at Rike and Peyton’s pasts; see what happens with Scotty and Lindsey (unless they get their own book??); and I would have liked to see more from Tommy towards the end, as I loved his character and the relationship he had with Peyton.

I think it just might impossible for Nazarea Andrews to write a book that I don’t enjoy. She easily sucks me in and keeps hold of me until the very end with her fantastic writing and engaging storylines. Before & After is another hit with me.

“Do you think I could forget you?” I shrug. “Doesn’t matter. I’ll remember for both of us, and I’ll make you remember too.”

image

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

BEFORE & AFTER – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

image

Nazarea Andrews is an avid reader and tends to write the stories she wants to read. She loves chocolate and coffee almost as much as she loves books, but not quite as much as she loves her kids. She lives in south Georgia with her husband, daughters, and overgrown dog.

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Street Team | Newsletter

Win a silver Ampersand necklace and a signed copy of BEFORE & AFTER! To enter, just click the giveaway tab below.

image

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

