Excerpt – IN THE DARK by Monica Murphy

In The Dark by Monica Murphy releases on Tuesday, and I have an excerpt for you today! I can’t wait to get to know Gabriel and Lucy! Pre-order links included.


image

Stuck spending the summer with his screwed up family, Gabriel Walker is bored out of his mind and looking for an adventure. And he seems to find it with the hot girl who lives next door. The attraction between them is instant. Electric. Soon they’re spending every stolen minute together. Talk about the perfect summer fling…

Lucy isn’t what she seems. She doesn’t live next door—she’s the girl who’s been hired to house sit for the summer while the family goes on a worldwide vacation. If Gabe wants to believe she’s a spoiled rich girl looking for some fun, she can go along with that. After the summer, she’ll never see him again.

They don’t count on running into each other at college. Now Lucy must keep up the pretense of being a rich girl—and it’s exhausting. She knows she’s falling in love with Gabe and she’s scared he feels the same. Will he still care about her when he discovers the truth?

image

“Have you really looked at yourself lately? Pretty hair.” I thread my fingers through it and push it behind her shoulder. “Beautiful dark eyes. Kissable lips.” I lean in and brush my mouth against hers, pulling away before we can turn it into something more. “You smell fucking amazing.” I brush my nose against her cheek, moving down to her neck. “And I really like this.” I touch the very tops of her breasts, teasing the lace trim of her exposed bra.

She sucks in a harsh breath when I touch her there and I wonder again if I pushed too far. I trace my index finger along the lace, across one breast, then the other. Her head is bent, her hair falling around her face so I can’t see her reaction but I know she’s watching me touch her. Does she like watching?

Ah hell, my dick just got even harder.

“Gabe…” Her voice drifts off and a surge of triumph runs through me. I like it when she says my name. I like her, damn it. I want to find out more about her. I want to fill in all of those mysterious blanks. Yeah, she’s quiet. Yeah, she’s not my usual type but I don’t give a damn. I’m thinking this summer isn’t going to be a typical one for me. Instead of messing around with a variety of chicks, like usual, I think I want to stick with one and explore what’s happening between us further. Crazy but true.

I want Lucy.

But does she want me?

Wrapping my hand around her nape, I pull her down for another kiss. This one is even deeper, our tongues tangling, our bodies subtly thrusting against each other. I can feel my control slipping, bit by bit and I want to explode. Just tear off Lucy’s clothes, pull my cock out and fuck her. Fuck her until she screams. Fuck her until I collapse.

And I never feel like this. Control is the name of the game. It’s what keeps the girls coming back for more.

“Gabe.” She breaks away from my lips, saying my name more firmly now, her hands planted on my chest and she gives me a not so subtle shove. Without warning she climbs off my lap and scurries over to the edge of the balcony, leaning against the metal railing with her back to me.

I sit in stunned silence, amped up and turned on yet willing my erection down and breathing deep to calm my racing heart. What the fuck just happened? She’d been into it. I know she was. So what did I do? Where did we go wrong? Is she mad?

Damn, I really hope she isn’t mad.

image

FAIR PLAY #1 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

IN THE DARK #2 – Out August 25th, 2015!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

SLOW PLAY #3 – Out November 3rd, 2015!
Goodreads |
pre-order currently unavailable

image



New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite. A wife and mother of three, she writes New Adult and contemporary romance for Bantam and Avon. She is the author of One Week Girlfriend and Second Chance Boyfriend.

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

