New Review and Guest Post – DANGEROUS LIES by Becca Fitzpatrick

Becca Fitzpatrick has a brand new book out which is a must for any YA lovers book shelves! Check out my review below, along with a guest post from the author, on how she became a writer.

image

A teen is forced to make a fresh start after witnessing a violent crime—but love and danger find her anyway in this novel from Becca Fitzpatrick, the New York Times bestselling author of the Hush, Hush saga.

Stella Gordon is not her real name. Thunder Basin, Nebraska, is not her real home. This is not her real life.

After witnessing a lethal crime, Stella Gordon is sent to the middle of nowhere for her own safety before she testifies against the man she saw kill her mother’s drug dealer.

But Stella was about to start her senior year with the boyfriend she loves. How can she be pulled away from the only life she knows and expected to start a new one in Nebraska? Stella chafes at her protection and is rude to everyone she meets. She’s not planning on staying long, so why be friendly? Then she meets Chet Falconer and it becomes harder to keep her guard up, even as her guilt about having to lie to him grows.

As Stella starts to feel safer, the real threat to her life increases—because her enemies are actually closer than she thinks…

image

I fell in love with Becca Fitzpatrick’s writing and knack for story telling with Black Ice, so I couldn’t wait to get started on her brand new book about a rich kid who ends up in Witness Protection!

Dangerous Lies had a bunch of things I love in books: a great plot, a spoilt rich girl whose life literally gets turned upside down, a “bad boy” who you can’t help but fall for (seriously, I love him!), the suspense (though fairly minor as other parts of the story take precedence) of are the real bad guys gonna come looking for her?? (Of course they are!!) Are they gonna find her?? (Who knows??) And what will happen if the do?? (Eeek!) 

I also loved the romance between Stella and Chet, though I was a bit iffy over the fact she was so completely in love with Reed until suddenly…Reed who? But Chet… Sigh! And FAMILY!!! It’s not always blood that ties us, and sometimes, the strongest bonds are the ones we forge for ourselves, and I loved this aspect of the book.

I also loved the character growth. I did not like Stella one tiny bit in the beginning of the book. In fact, until about the half way point (when the character growth set in) I thought she was a royal pain in the arse! But by the end I was really rooting for her to get a happy (and safe!!) ever after.

The ending was the best bit of the book, though I both loved and hated that it was action packed. Loved because it was the edge-of-your-seat stuff I’d been waiting for, and hated because I wish it been played out a little longer! There also were some loose ends that I wish had been tied up, but they were nothing major. 

Overall… Dangerous Lies is a really great read to curl up with on a dark and blustery night.

image

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

DANGEROUS LIES – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Hardback | US eBook | US Hardback

GUEST POST

How I Became A Writer… (by Becca Fitzpatrick)
When I was around eight years old, I watched Romancing the Stone for the first time. It’s a movie about a romance writer who travels to Colombia to rescue her sister. She ends up hunting for treasure and falling in love with a tall, dark, handsome man. I remember deciding that I wanted to be just like Joan Wilder when I grew up. I thought all romance writers lived an action filled life with heart-stopping romance. Over the years I’d forgotten this dream and actually wanted to become a spy. It’s true. I even applied to the CIA!

My husband surprised me by enrolling me in a writing class for my 24th birthday. I was so nervous to be in the class. All of the other students had graduated with degrees in English or literature, and I graduated in health. I felt completely out of my element, but I’m glad I stuck with it. I’d been an avid journal-writer for many years, but I never knew how much I’d love telling stories. It was in that class that I started writing Hush, Hush.

I spent about five years revising Hush, Hush. Many times I wanted to give up. But I was part of a critique group, and my fellow writer friends had my back. If you’re seeking publication, I’d urge you to find a great writers’ group. Writing is a very solitary profession, their feedback and support is invaluable.

image

  

Fitzpatrick grew up reading Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden with a flashlight under the covers. She graduated college with a degree in health, which she promptly abandoned for storytelling. When not writing, she’s most likely prowling sale racks for reject shoes, running, or watching crime dramas on TV. She is the author of the bestselling HUSH, HUSH Saga.

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

