New Review – THREE AMAZING THINGS ABOUT YOU by Jill Mansell

Check out my 4 star review of Three Amazing Things About You by Jill Mansell, and get some tissues handy before you dive in!

  

image

Jill Mansell’s enchanting new novel will drive readers to seize life with both hands and make the most of every minute…

Hallie has a secret. She’s in love. He’s perfect for her in every way, but he’s seriously out of bounds. And her friends aren’t going to help her because what they do know is that Hallie doesn’t have long to live. Time is running out…

Flo has a dilemma. She really likes Zander. But his scary sister won’t be even faintly amused if she thinks Zander and Flo are becoming friends – let alone anything more.

Tasha has a problem. Her new boyfriend is the adventurous type. And she’s afraid one of his adventures will go badly wrong.

THREE AMAZING THINGS ABOUT YOU begins as Hallie goes on a journey. A donor has been found and she’s about to be given new lungs. But whose?

image

What an unexpected beauty this book turned out to be. I picked this one on a whim, and I spent the following night caught up in the stories of these characters. Now, the book as a whole, followed three coupled, and I have to admit that I felt a little lost early on.

Third point of view isn’t my favourite, especially when there’s a lot of characters and different storylines to keep up with. I actually had to write myself a note of who was who, so I didn’t get them mixed up. But once I had a handle on that, I was away.

I really did love all the characters and where their lives took them, especially Hallie, who unintentionally finds herself linked to all the other characters. There was some real humour and heart throughout this book, which kept me turning the pages, and then there was a twist. Ugh, that twist. All I’ll say on the matter is, have tissues handy.

You know how when something beautiful comes from something heartbreaking? And you’re sad and happy at the same time, and the emotions running through you are just so overwhelming that there’s tears tears tears? Well that was the last 5% of this book for me.

I could hardly read the words through my seemingly endless supply of tears, as my heart both hurt and soared for this “new-family” of characters. For me? Without a doubt, the last 5% was the strongest of the entire book.

Surprisingly funny and emotional. Three Amazing Things About You was my first Jill Mansel book, but it won’t be my last.

image

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

THREE AMAZING THINGS ABOUT YOU – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US Paperback

image

  

Jill Mansell lives with her partner and children in Bristol, and writes full time. Actually that’s not true; she watches TV, eats fruit gums, admires the rugby players training in the sports field behind her house, and spends hours on the internet marvelling at how many other writers have blogs. Only when she’s completely run out of displacement activities does she write.

Jill Mansell’s books have sold over ten million copies and her titles include: Making your Mind up, Fast Friends, Good at Games, Sheer Mischief and Solo, among many others.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

Leave a Reply

