New Review – NEVER TEAR US APART by Monica Murphy

The first book in Monica Murphy’s new duet has arrived! Check out my review and buy links below!

image

Perfect for readers of Colleen Hoover, Jay Crownover, and K. A. Tucker, the first novel in this darkly sexy contemporary series from bestselling author Monica Murphy kicks off an emotionally powerful two-part tale of forbidden love.

Crazy how eight years can disappear in an instant. One look at Katie Watts, and I’m a fifteen-year-old again—the one who risked everything to save a terrified girl from her twisted kidnapper. She’s grown-up now—beautiful, quiet, composed—and telling her story to the world. A story that involves me in more ways than you can imagine. She used to call me her guardian angel. Sure, I risked my life, but she was worth dying for.

I need to make contact with her. Just to ensure that she’s safe.

Somehow we reconnect. We become friends . . . but I want more. I want to make her mine. And she wants me too. Does she know who I am? Has she figured me out? Not yet. But she will. In the meantime, I need to make sure that whatever hold that animal had on her is gone.

So, yeah, I’m stealing these moments with her. Savoring them. Knowing, dreading, that she’ll soon find out who I really am. And everything will fall apart. All because of that twisted, perverted monster sitting on death row. Her kidnapper. A convicted serial killer.

My father.

image

The second Monica Murphy announces a new book, it goes on my TBR, and you can guarantee I’ll be picking it up when it’s available. She’s an author who I’ve followed since her first book, and I’ll continue to follow until her last (which hopefully will not be for many years!).

Never Tear Us Apart is the first book in a brand new two part series about abuse, deceit, survival, and love. The book starts with a turn of events which would forever change the characters lives, and though we are briefly told about what happened in those days, I felt the darkness was glossed over and the characters spent such little time together, I didn’t feel their connection.

To be honest, I didn’t really feel much of anything at all while reading. I know something horrific happened, but it played out like you’d tell a stranger in passing, rather than the reader really experiencing it, and I’m all about the feels when I’m reading! Whether it be unmeasurable pain or laughing until my face hurts, I need to feel!

The book has alternating chapters showing us the “then” and “now” of these characters story, and I have to say, it was the “now” which really had me turning the pages fast. I loved Katie and Ethan so much!! They didn’t get much of a start in their earlier years, but now they had age and independence on their side, and nothing was going to get in their way. Well, until that (not so) little revelation came to light…

I loved the ending. I’m one of the few people who really don’t mind cliffhangers (yes, it’s a duo series so of course there’s a cliffhanger) because they create drama and have me desperate for the next book to arrive! Never Let You Go is coming in May and I can’t wait!!

image

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*

image

NEVER TEAR US APART #1 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

NEVER LET YOU GO #2 – Out May 3rd!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

image



New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Monica Murphy is a native Californian who lives in the foothills below Yosemite. A wife and mother of three, she writes New Adult and contemporary romance for Bantam and Avon. She is the author of One Week Girlfriend and Second Chance Boyfriend.

Website | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Amazon

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

