EXCLUSIVE: Cover Reveal and Interview – Vengeful Love: Deception by Laura Carter

I have something fantastic on the blog today! Myself, along with Four Brits And A Book, and Bookaholics Reading Haven, (AKA the ladies of Four Brits Book Fest!!!) are revealing the cover for the sequel to Vengeful Love by Laura Carter, and we all have further exclusives! I had the honour of interviewing the lovely author herself, which you can read below, and check out Four Brits And A Book, and Bookaholics Reading Haven for their exclusives!

image

How far would you go for the one you love?
Would you keep a deadly secret?
Would you risk everything?
I would. And I did. Because living without Gregory Ryans is unthinkable.
But I can’t keep living a lie. He can’t see that the only way to be free is to reveal the truth.
I’m ready to put my faith in the law, but he’s doing what he does best: buying a contingency plan.
He tells me I’m his light, his one bright spot in all the darkness that surrounds him. But his past is creeping forward from the shadows, and secrets he’s guarded with his life are destroying him.
There are some things money can’t buy.
If he won’t let me in, I’m not sure my love is enough to save him.

AUTHOR INTERVIEW

Holly’s Hot Reads: Your first book is yet to release and you’re already signed up to attend some big book signing events! How excited are you for RT and of course, Four Brits Book Fest?

Laura Carter: Honestly, I feel like a kid on Christmas Eve. You know when you’re desperate for Santa to come but you’re worried he won’t bring the present you really, really want? I’m excited but I’m very nervous. I just hope people like the books and want to come say hi!

HHR: I have no doubt! The response to the cover reveal of the first book in your series was fantastic and I’m so happy to have the chance to show off the sequel. Both covers are gorgeous but do you have a favourite?

LC: This is so bad. Like choosing your favourite child (or pet for me because I don’t have children). I do have a favourite and it’s *drum roll* Vengeful Love: Deception. I love the cover for Vengeful Love because it is a great representation of the trilogy—not least because Gregory lives in the Shard. But I adore the image of Rome and the couple on the cover for Vengeful Love: Deception. When people have a chance to read the book I think they’ll understand why I love this cover so much.

HHR: I can’t wait to dive in! All three books in this series will release within 3 months. How does it feel to know your story will finally be out there for the world to fall in love with?

LC: In lots of ways it still doesn’t seem real. It’s cliché but I’d believe it if I woke up tomorrow and realised it was all just a wonderful dream. Then I’d probably try to go back to sleep! I think it might finally sink in when people are reading the books. It’s also a little bittersweet because I hope people love Gregory and Scarlett as much as I do but I’ve enjoyed living in a bubble where Mr. Ryans is mine and mine alone.

HHR: Ha! I think there will be many fights over Gregory Ryans! We have a LOT of readers in our FBBF Facebook Group who are desperate to read this series! Can you give us a sneaky peek at your favourite (spoiler free) quote?

LC: Oh my gosh, Holly, this killed me! I genuinely started in double figures but I think I’m there. My conclusion is, I can’t pick one. So, in no particular order (for spoiler purposes ;-)) I’ve given you one from each book.

“I refuse to tell anyone about Mr. Sexy Bazillionaire Ryans and how truly smitten I am with the controlling, enigmatic, most mesmerising man I’ve ever met. Because he’s also a dick” – Scarlett

“You. Are. Incredible. You’re strong, beautiful and smart. And I’m too damn selfish to let you go” – Gregory

“All my life, I’ve searched for a reason why I’m still here. A purpose. After everything I’ve put you through, by some miracle, you’re still standing in front of me, utterly spellbinding. I know, in this moment, that you are the reason I exist, Scarlett Heath” – Gregory

HHR: Oooh, I loved those so much!! So, Gregory Ryans is your leading man in the Vengeful Love series; can you tell us 5 facts about him?

LC:
1 – Arguably most important…he’s HOT!
2 – He was born in South Africa and though he lives in London, he still has a sexy South African twang.
3 – Gregory is the billionaire CEO of the GJR group of companies (Gregory James Ryans).
4 – His birthday is 9 October 1985.
5 – He lives in the Shard.

HHR: He sounds dreamy! I think sometimes it’s easy to forget that authors live normal lives too; it’s not all champagne and swooning over sexy men…(is it??) So what is your average daily routine?

LC: If I have a choice I’ll go for champagne and swooning, please. In the real world, life is not quite so exciting for me as it is for Scarlett and Gregory.

I’m a lawyer in an international law firm so my days go something like this…

5.50am – gym (unless I’m super tired, which is often!)
8am – commute to work (this is my reading time)
8.40am – pick up a necessary coconut latte (and, on Wednesdays, the Stylist magazine)
8.50am – I’ll start work on whatever deal I’m negotiating. Some days are much longer than others but for arguments sake, let’s say I’m home by 7pm.
7pm until late – editing, writing or doing something book related (like being announced as an attending author at FBBF)

There really isn’t a lot of spare time in my life at the moment but I do try to set time aside for my husband, friends (read “dry martinis”) and family. I have the most beautiful dog in the world and he really doesn’t wait for me to make time, he’ll give me the nose bump or throw himself at my feet when he wants attention. There’s an outside chance my husband might start doing this soon!

HHR: That is a seriously busy day!! Now let’s change things up a bit and have some quick fire questions! I’ll ask a question, you answer with the first thing that comes to mind.

Favourite book?
LC:Yikes! Too hard. Okay, I have to say The Count of Monte Cristo because…the Count! Modern day, I ADORE Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series. (Did I just break the rules?)

HHR:Sweet or savoury?
LC: Sweet. Dark chocolate. Dark chocolate with raspberries. Dark chocolate with orange and almond. Dark chocolate with hazelnuts. Dark choc…

HHR: Country you’d most like to visit?
LC: Argentina.

HHR: TV or movies?
LC:Movies but I love Suits. Harvey Specter…yum!

HHR: Most embarrassing moment?
LC:Ha. So many. In brief, I once slept through six fire fighters axing down my front door at 3am. Fortunately, I was wearing PJs. I’m thinking you can ask me about that in June!

HHR: I am definitely finding out more about the 3am fire fighters in June! And finally, Kiss, Marry, Avoid…George Clooney, Chris Hemsworth, Tom Cruise?

LC: You answered for me…Kiss George Clooney, Marry Chris Hemsworth and Avoid Tom Cruise.

HHR: Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions, Laura! See you in June!!!

LC: Thank you for having me! Such great questions. Sorry for breaking the rules.

VENGEFUL LOVE #1- Out March 21st, 2016!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

DECEPTION #2 – Out April 11th, 2016!
UK eBook | US eBook

DIAMONDS #3 – Out May 26th, 2016!
UK eBook | US eBook

image

As a child, Laura would make up plays to perform with her sister and cousins at her grandparents’ house. She enrolled in drama school and piano classes, plotting, performing, writing lyrics to songs. In school, she wrote screenplays and stories–she can remember blushing at her first use of an expletive! Safe to say, Laura has always had a flare for the dramatic and spent probably too much time living in a fictional world.
At some point in her late teens, sensibility won out and Laura enrolled in law school. She studied Law at the University of Durham, then studied for a diploma in Legal Practice and became a master of International Trade Law.
When her student days came to an end, Laura spent time travelling the world, indulging in new sights, sounds, people and cultures. She kept a daily travel journal and wrote snippets of her adventures for family and friends back home. It was on Bondi Beach when Laura was living in Sydney, Australia, that she picked up a tatty notepad and pencil and began writing her first novel (now safely tucked away in a drawer).
When her legal career brought her back to London, England, the writing bug bit Laura again and she found an idea that stuck. From a small bedroom in the city, Gregory Ryans and Scarlett Heath were born in book 1 of the Vengeful Love trilogy.
Laura continues to practice law full time for a global business law firm and writes in the evenings and on weekends. The Vengeful Love trilogy is complete (at least for now) but Laura has a lot more ideas up her sleeve.
Watch this space!

Website | Facebook | Goodreads

Events: Laura is attending two signings this year. The first one is RT in Las Vegas this coming April and her second is at Four Brits Book Fest in Birmingham, England in June. To find out more information go here: http://www.lauracarterauthor.com/#!events/cniv

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

