Holly’s Hot Reads’ Half Term TBR

We are currently half way through our week off school for half term and I’ve been devouring my books!! Working in school all day throughout the week means I’m usually too tired to read on the evenings so I catch up on books on the weekends and holidays.

On the first day on the holidays I made my all important Half Term TBR which consisted of 7 books I wanted to read. I’ve listed below, all the books I hope to read, along with buy links, and my review and rating once read. I’ll be updating as I go!

Do you plan your books in advance? Let me know in the comments what’s at the top of your TBR!

READ…

image
Legend by Katy Evans
Available Now
UK http://amzn.to/12aQtLC
US http://amzn.to/1IgWFma
(Review: http://wp.me/p3Gaz5-1DT)

***

Maverick “the Avenger” Cage wants to rise to the top and become a legend in the ring. Though he keeps his identity well guarded, he’s known on the fighting circuit as the new kid with a chip on his shoulder and a tattoo on his back that marks him as trouble. He’s got a personal score to settle with the Underground’s one and only Remington “Riptide” Tate.

As Mav trains, he meets a young girl—the only other new person in the town–and sparks fly. When things get heated between them, he finds out she’s none other than Reese Dumas, the cousin of Remington Tate’s wife. A girl who’s supposed to root against him and a girl he’s supposed to stay away from.
But Maverick fights for the woman in his heart, and the monsters in his blood. The world’s eyes are on them and the victor will go down in history as the ultimate fighting champion; the ultimate LEGEND.

The highly anticipated sixth story in the New York Times bestselling series that began with Real—“a rare mix of fevered obsession and gentle enchantment…a visceral and addicting debut” (Christina Lauren).



image
Stardust Destiny by Nazarea Andrews
Available Now
UK http://amzn.to/1SqhWAU
US http://amzn.to/1XxJqnJ
(Review: http://wp.me/p3Gaz5-1DM)

***

The face that launched a thousand ships…

I grew up knowing my destiny. Daddy pounded it in my head, my brother repeated it every day of my life. I was the only daughter of the Orsi crime syndicate, the pretty prize that would bring peace. My one job was to marry Callum Sheehan, the vicious head of the Irish mob in Chicago.
I never questioned my future–until I saw him.

The man who was never meant to love her…

I wasn’t going to the wedding. It’s shit that my brother does, things our father requires of the heir of the Sosa cartel. Not me. I’m the black sheep, the one Mama spoiled, and my father loves, but without the pressure of expectation. But Sheehan is too big a deal for me to blow off.
And then I see her.

The love that started a war…

She isn’t mine. She will never be mine. I watch her fall apart when she thinks no one is watching. I watch her marry another man. I watch her bravery. And I don’t care who she belongs to or that it will start a war between our families.

I will damn us both to possess her, and burn down the world to keep her.

A modern erotic retelling of Helen of Troy, and the epic love that brought an empire to its knees.



image
Hidden Bodies by Carline Kepnes
Available Now in the UK, Releasing February 23rd in the US
UK http://amzn.to/20Wrj04
US http://amzn.to/1XxJJyL
(Review: http://wp.me/p3Gaz5-1Ey)

***

In the compulsively readable follow-up to her widely acclaimed debut novel, You, Caroline Kepnes weaves a tale that Booklist calls “the love child of Holden Caulfield and Patrick Bateman.”


Hidden Bodies marks the return of a voice that Stephen King described as original and hypnotic, and through the divisive and charmingly sociopathic character of Joe Goldberg, Kepnes satirizes and dissects our culture, blending suspense with scathing wit.

Joe Goldberg is no stranger to hiding bodies. In the past ten years, this thirty-something has buried four of them, collateral damage in his quest for love. Now he’s heading west to Los Angeles, the city of second chances, determined to put his past behind him.

In Hollywood, Joe blends in effortlessly with the other young upstarts. He eats guac, works in a bookstore, and flirts with a journalist neighbor. But while others seem fixated on their own reflections, Joe can’t stop looking over his shoulder. The problem with hidden bodies is that they don’t always stay that way. They re-emerge, like dark thoughts, multiplying and threatening to destroy what Joe wants most: truelove. And when he finds it in a darkened room in Soho House, he’s more desperate than ever to keep his secrets buried. He doesn’t want to hurt his new girlfriend—he wants to be with her forever. But if she ever finds out what he’s done, he may not have a choice…



Nine Letters by Blake Austin
Releasing Feb 24th

***

Luke Cawley is a broken man. After his wife’s tragic death, he lost everything that mattered in the world. Now, his life is filled with hard days, harder nights, and a steady stream of alcohol and the wrong kind of women. Nothing helps.

Until the letters arrive on Luke’s doorstep.

Nine envelopes. Nine messages. Nine chances to find his way back.

Rae Goode is looking for the real thing. After fighting her way out of a string of bad relationships, she’s ready for something different–something true.
She meets Luke while piecing her life together, and right away she can tell that he’s different. Drawn together by fate and the desire to heal, Rae and Luke discover new ways to mend their broken hearts–one letter at a time.

Discover Blake Austin’s debut novel of loss, redemption, and ever-enduring love.



IMG_2228.JPG

Vengeful Love by Laura Carter
Releasing March 21st
UK http://amzn.to/1QsuSQH
US http://amzn.to/1XxJWSB
(Author Interview: http://wp.me/p3Gaz5-1De)

***

He’s a devastatingly handsome, filthy-rich CEO. She’s a high-flying London lawyer. All it takes is one boardroom pitch. One hostile takeover.
Vengeful Love is darkly suspenseful, sinfully sexy white-collar romance at its very best.

I’ve always walked the straight and narrow—following the rules, never straying from my chosen path.

Until Mr. Sexy Bazillionaire CEO Gregory Ryans walked into my life. It was only supposed to be business, but one brush of his wicked lips against my skin changed everything.

I can’t deny what this man inspires in me. I’ll do anything he asks…even help destroy the enemies from his past.

But he’s hiding more than he’s telling me.

When our love leads to tragedy, there’s no going back. Gregory’s past is trying to kill our future.

They say love can bring a person to their knees.

I’ve just proven that vengeful love is the strongest force of all.

Book One of the Vengeful Love trilogy.



TO BE READ…

Listen To Me by Kristen Proby
Releasing April 12th
UK http://amzn.to/1NDhoAr
US http://amzn.to/1j7h3gP
(Featured Song: http://wp.me/p3Gaz5-1Dq)

***

In New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Kristen Proby’s brand new series, five best friends open a hot new restaurant, but one of them gets much more than she bargained for when a sexy former rock star walks through the doors—and into her heart.

Seduction is quickly becoming the hottest new restaurant in Portland, and Addison Wade is proud to claim 1/5 of the credit. She’s determined to make it a success and can’t think of a better way to bring in new customers than live music. But when former rock star Jake Keller swaggers through the doors to apply for the weekend gig, she knows she’s in trouble. Addie instantly recognizes him—his posters were plastered all over her bedroom walls in high school—he’s all bad boy…exactly her type and exactly what she doesn’t need.

Jake Keller walked away from the limelight five years ago and yearns to return to what’s always driven him: the music. If he gets to work for a smart-mouthed, funny-as-hell bombshell, all the better. But talking Addie into giving him the job is far easier than persuading her that he wants more than a romp in her bed. Just when she begins to drop her walls, Jake’s past finally catches up with him.

Will Addie be torn apart once again or will Jake be able to convince her to drown out her doubts and listen to her heart?



Dirty by Kylie Scott
Releasing April 19th
UK http://amzn.to/1FBeKxj
US http://amzn.to/1R9pB2U

***

The last thing Vaughan Hewson expects to find when he returns to his childhood home is a broken hearted bride in his shower, let alone the drama and chaos that comes with her.

Lydia Green doesn’t know whether to burn down the church or sit and cry in a corner. Discovering the love of your life is having an affair on your wedding day is bad enough. Finding out it’s with his best man is another thing all together. She narrowly escapes tying the knot and meets Vaughan only hours later.

Vaughan is the exact opposite of the picture perfect, respected businessman she thought she’d marry. This former musician-turned-bartender is rough around the edges and unsettled. But she already tried Mr. Right and discovered he’s all wrong-maybe it’s time to give Mr. Right Now a chance.

After all, what’s wrong with getting dirty?



image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

