Review – SHE DIMS THE STARS by Amber L Johnson

Amber L Johnson is the author if one of my Top 15 Reads of 2015, and she’s back with another fantastic story! She Dims The Stars is out now and just 99c!!

 

image

Who is Audrey Byrd?

Ask her ex-best friend, Cline Somers, and he’ll tell you that she’s the girl who inexplicably stopped talking to him when they were fifteen years old, leaving him with nothing but questions and bitterness for the better part of the next six years.

Ask his roommate, Elliot Clark, and he would say that Audrey is the enigmatic girl who randomly showed up outside a window one day and turned his whole world upside down in a matter of moments.

Ask Audrey herself and she’ll tell you that she has no idea who she is, because her entire life is a lie. However, the older she gets the more she needs answers about who she really is.

What she discovers is a tangled web of secrets better left in the dark.

Some truths do more harm than good.

***Recommended for readers 18+ due to sensitive subject matter, language and situations***

image

“We’re gonna be the greatest love story ever told.”

I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this book when I first went in. I hadn’t read the synopsis but the fact that it was written by the same author as one of my very top reads of 15 was enough to have me diving me, and I am so glad that I did.

When I started reading, I was actually in the throws of a book hanger, so I thought I’d find it hard to really get stuck in to She Dims The Stars, but I was wrong. I fell hopelessly in love with Audrey and Elliot, and even Cline! This was just such a great book!!

It was emotional, heartfelt and so uplifting!! She shows us a different side to a sensitive subject and she handles it with such care and devotion. It’s really not often these day that I can read a book in just one sitting but with She Dims The Stars, there was no stopping once I started.

It had the perfect mix of angst and humour, and I just loved it so much! The ending was perfection. I loved what Elliot did for Audrey. Obviously no spoilers. But when you get to it, you’ll know exactly what I mean. It made me love him twenty times more than before.

There’s also a section after the end of the story where the author talks about the reason she chose to write the storyline she did, and she adds sections for different organisations linked to the topic which I always think is really important with stories like this, so if you read it and it relates to you, there’s help. And hope.

One heck of a story. One heck of a romance. One heck of an author. Thank you, Amber L Johnson. For Audrey, for Elliot, for their story, and yours.

“I’m the hero in this story boys. Don’t you forget it.”

image

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*



SHE DIMS THE STARS – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook



image

Amber lives in Texas with her amazingly talented husband and incredibly gifted son. Most known for her novella Puddle Jumping (a 2014 Goodreads Choice Award nominee for Best YA) she is constantly trying her hand at new genres and ideas to force herself to think outside the box.

She is inspired by music, her family, a close group of friends, and real life. Mostly in that order.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

