Review – THE HURRICANE by RJ Prescott

Have you read The Hurricane by RJ Prescott yet? Because oh boy, you need to meet Cormac O’Connell and the rest of the crew at Danny’s Gym! Check out my review below and get one-clicking!!

the hurricane

image

Emily McCarthy is living in fear of a dark and dangerous past. A gifted mathematician, she is little more than a hollow, broken shell, trying desperately to make ends meet long enough to finish her degree.

Through an unlikely friendship with the aging, cantankerous owner of an old boxing gym, Em is thrown into the path of the most dangerous man that she has ever met.

Cormac “the Hurricane” O’Connell is cut, tattooed and dangerous. He is a lethal weapon with no safety and everyone is waiting for the mis-fire. He’s never been knocked out before, but when he meet Em he falls, HARD. Unlike any other girl he’s ever met, she doesn’t want anything from him, but just being around her makes him want to be a better person.

They are polar opposites who were never meant to find each other, but some things are just worth the fight.

image

“If you need time, then I’ll give you time. If you need friendship, then I’ll give you friendship. But you’re mine, and when the time is right, when you’re ready, I’m coming for you.”

Why did I leave it so long to read this book??? There’s not many things I love more than a good book about a rough tough guy who falls hard for the woman in his life, and The Hurricane by RJ Prescott had me swooning over Cormac ‘The Hurricane’ O’Connell from page one. It’s been a while since I’ve read a fighter romance and this book reminded me just why I love them so much.

Cormac and Emily had such a great romance. The type where you know they’re destined to be, and Cormac would do anything to make it possible, including starting out as friends until the fragile and shy Emily felt ready. She had been through such a lot of pain and torment, and she was constantly living in fear. Suddenly being pursued by a giant of a fighter was not in her plans, but just maybe, he might be the very thing she needed? I loved just about everything about these two, though I have to say, I wasn’t keen on her constantly calling him “O’Connell”–it felt too impersonal.

There’s one thing you can almost guarantee in books about fighters, and that is the people they have in their corner. Their family. And I don’t mean blood relations either. Cormac had such a tightknit group of people behind him, and then once Emily entered the fold, she too was welcomed with open arms. And who wouldn’t want to be loved and protected by the loveable rogues who box at Danny’s Gym?

I not only loved Cormac and Emily, but I also loved Danny, Kieran, Tommy, Nikki, and everyone else who was a part of Cormac and Emily’s circle, and I really hope we see books for some of those in the future. There of course, are characters who I loved to hate. Cormac’s mum, Katrina, and Frank to name a few. Though I hated their vile characters and the things they did, I loved what they brought to the story.

The Hurricane ended with a fantastic epilogue, and though there wasn’t a cliffhanger, it was definitely set up for the second book the series, The Aftermath. I absolutely cannot wait to see what the sequel brings for Cormac, Emily and the rest of the crew.

image

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*



THE HURRICANE #1 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

THE AFTERMATH #2 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook



image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

