Blog Tour: Q&A – Laurelin Paige (First and Last)

Happy 1st of July! Today, the blog tour for Last Kiss by Laurelin Paige stops by Holly’s Hot Reads, and I have some great content to share with you! I was lucky enough to have the Best Selling author answer a few questions; find out what she had to say about a possible spin-off and her favourite scenes from the two part series.

last kiss

image

A GAME OF CAT AND MOUSE FILLED WITH DARK DESIRES AND DANGEROUS SECRETS…

Emily Wayborn has made a decision.

She might not fully trust handsome and deadly Reeve Sallis, but he is the one person that gives her what she needs. With Reeve she can finally be herself. Submitting to him is the only thing keeping her grounded as the rest of her life falls apart. But the hotelier is a master at keeping secrets and as she continues her quest for answers someone is making sure she doesn’t find them.

Time is running out and she is questioning everything she thought she knew about friendship and love. She must now make an impossible choice that will determine if she will survive with her heart…or at all.

AUTHOR Q&A

Holly’s Hot Reads: Hi, Laurelin! Thank you so much for taking the time to answer a few questions for me.

As you know, I’ve been a fan of you since the very beginning; I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of your first book and I never looked back. Over the years you’ve written many books, all undeniably sexy and fun, but the First and Last series is very different from the books you usually release. What made you decide to go down the thrilling and suspenseful route for Emily and Reeve’s story?

Laurelin Paige: Thanks so much for having me, Holly! I have so adored having you as a fan. Thank you for your continued support!

As for Emily and Reeve, I wanted to write something that was different and that took the psychological elements of the Fixed series to a new level. This was an opportunity to explore the idea of manipulation and the strange things that people are attracted to and the reasons why. I wanted to understand why these ideas were sexy and to do it, I had to write a book about it.

HHR: I absolutely just could not get enough of this story. From beginning to end of each book, I sat there and read, unable to put them down until I reached the final page, and I was on the edge of my seat the entire time! I just had no idea where the story would take me, who we could trust… How was it to write? Did you know in advance how the story would play out?

LP: Because this book was published through a publisher, yes, I did know how it was going to play out. I had to give them a full outline when they bought the series. It did change a bit along the way, but the major points stayed the same. Honestly, this story was very difficult to write emotionally. It was much darker than I usually write, and I had to spend a lot of time digging into these terrible events that shaped both Emily and Amber. It took a toll on me, but I hope that it made the books what they needed to be. I’m really proud of how they turned out.

HHR: Even though First and Last is a two book series, I, like many other readers, simply crave more! Do you have any plans for a spin-off series? Or maybe a sneaky short story or novella to see where the characters are now?

LP: I would love to come back to this series sometime. It would be fun to write a spin-off novel for Joe. He’s definitely got a story, and there are a lot of bad guys that he’d love to hunt down. It would be a fun, different way to take the series, I think. But right now nothing is planned. So, we’ll have to wait and see!

HHR: First Touch scored a place on my list of Top 15 Books of 2015, and (spoiler alert!) Last Kiss will be featured on my list of Top 16 Books of 2016. To date you’ve released 13 books (including the Fixed #4.5 short and your co-written books) and hit readers and bloggers favourites lists many times, have you got used to it yet? Or does it all still feel surreal?

LP: Ah! Thank you! That’s quite a compliment. I’m honored!

No, I haven’t gotten used to it. It all happened so fast and it definitely still feels surreal. I’m positive I’ll wake up any minute now and find out all of this was just a dream. At the same time, I hope it never gets old. It’s much too fun to be surprised by it all the time.

HHR: And speaking of favourites, do you have a favourite (as spoiler free as possible) quote and scene from both First Touch and Last Kiss?

LP: I’m not sure I have a favorite scene or quote, but here are a few I’m not ashamed of.

What he really wanted to hear were the other words, the words I couldn’t give. He’d danced around it, too, though. He’d suggested he loved me, but he’d never told me outright. Those words stood so prominently that they’d become a barrier between us. Either they’d been a lie, a cruel response to my scheming, or they’d been truthful—a possible doorway leading to something else. Something more.

Damn, how I wanted the more. Wanted it enough to brave broaching the subject. “You said things the other night, Reeve—”

He jumped in, turning his head to meet my eyes straight on. “I meant them.”

“Oh.”

Oh.

There was so much to say in response and yet nothing at all came to mind. And as wary as I was to fully trust him, I believed him. Many men had proclaimed their love for me—usually when I had my mouth around their dick—but it had never been sincere. The plethora of false variations had been enough to teach me that this version was the real thing.

But Reeve had said he’d loved Amber that night as well. And I believed that too.

“I want you sleeping in my bed, Emily.”

Or perhaps I was wrong about everything, and his devotion was tied up in sex like all the other men I’d known.

From First Touch:

Reeve Sallis liked to be in control.

I’d met that type of men before. I knew what they liked. They were the men who liked to fuck, but on their terms. They were the men who liked giving gifts and praise almost as much as they liked taking them away. They were the men who liked to hurt. To humiliate. Manipulate. They left bruises. They left scars. They were the men that induced fear. The men who debased and defiled. They were the reason I’d left that life in the first place.

And this was why, where Reeve Sallis was concerned, I was fucked. Because these were the men that I could never stop craving.

From Last Kiss:

I considered retorting back something sassy about not always being able to get what you want. But I wasn’t quite sure that was an adage that Reeve understood. Besides, I wanted to be sleeping in his bed as well, and maybe I would be eventually. If it was really where he wanted me. If I was really the one he wanted there.

I knew I should just ask—how do you feel about Amber now? What happens next between us? It was on the tip of my tongue, the questions preformed in my mouth when I decided to swallow them instead. Because I wasn’t sure I was ready to hear those answers—whatever they may be—and, in this moment, at least, I was what he desired. And maybe it was just an excuse to not have to think about her for a minute, to not worry about feeling guilty or like I’d betrayed her. As long as I didn’t know, I could blame my behavior on ignorance, and I could please him too.

The swing rocked as I shifted to my knees. Ignoring the chill of the seat against my bare shins, I leaned forward and unfastened Reeve’s jeans.

“This isn’t my bed,” he said, not moving to either help me or stop me.

“It’s the best I can do right now.”

He’d gone commando, a sign that he’d likely tried to sleep as well, then had thrown his clothing on when he found the effort futile. I rubbed my hands together, heating them with friction before I reached in for his cock.

Just as I lowered my lips to his tip, he said, “That ‘right now’ insinuates that there will be a time that you can do more.”

I didn’t want to answer, afraid of giving too much of myself away. Afraid that he wouldn’t like my reasons for not being with him fully or that he’d try to talk me out of worrying about Amber’s place in all of this.

So I occupied my mouth in other ways that prevented talking.

HHR: Thank you again so much for answering these questions, Laurelin. As always, I look forward to seeing what you bring us next.

LP: Thank you again for having me! Xoxo!

You can read my reviews of the First and Last series here: First Touch and Last Kiss

image

FIRST TOUCH – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

LAST KISS – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

image

NY Times & USA Today Bestselling author Laurelin Paige is a sucker for a good romance and gets giddy anytime there’s kissing, much to the embarrassment of her three daughters. Her husband doesn’t seem to complain, however. When she isn’t reading or writing sexy stories, she’s probably singing, watching Game of Thrones and the Walking Dead, or dreaming of Michael Fassbender. She is represented by Rebecca Friedman and Friedman Literary.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Booktropolous | Instagram

Leave a Reply

