Review – A GIFT OF TIME by Beth Flynn

*sniff sniff* The third and final book in the incredible Nine Minutes series by Beth Flynn is here. A Gift Of Time was everything I hoped for an so much more. Check out my review and buy links below.

a gift of time

image

Are some secrets meant to stay buried?

Three months have passed since Jason “Grizz” Talbot was put to death by lethal injection for crimes he committed. His former wife, Ginny, whom he had abducted from a convenience store when she was a teenager and became the love obsession of his life, has spent more than the last decade trying to carve out a life of normalcy in the bustling suburbs of Fort Lauderdale—including a thriving and happy marriage to Tommy “Grunt” Dillon, a former member of Grizz’s gang.

Tired of the secrets and the lies, Ginny and Tommy thought the final piece of their past could be left behind forever with Grizz’s execution. However, the past comes crashing around Ginny and Tommy when a newly discovered secret threatens to destroy their marriage. When tragedy strikes, Ginny is forced to reach into her heart and decide, once and for all, what she really wants.

In this third book in the Nine Minutes trilogy, A Gift of Time takes readers from the busy tropical metropolis of South Florida into the serenity of the North Carolina Blue Ridge mountains as Ginny chases down the answers she needs.

Will she have the strength to confront the secrets of her past…and her heart?

image

It’s no secret that I am a huge, huge fan of the Nine Minutes series by Beth Flynn. Having only read the books for the first (and second) time earlier this year, they immediately shot to my list of favourite books of all time! The wait for the final book in the series, A Gift Of Time, has been almost painful, and when it hit my Kindle, I wasted no time in diving in.

As with each book in this highly addictive series, I was hooked from the very first chapter; that prologue…oh my word, I needed to know who it was!!!!!! Gah, Beth Flynn is the ultimate tease, and I both wanted to read faster so I could find out all that happens between the time we left off at the end of Out Of Time, and where the prologue began (yes, Beth once again started at the beginning), but I also wanted to savour every word, knowing this was the final ride.

It’s actually taken me a long time to be able to find the words to review this book. I haven’t been able to read or write anything since I inhaled A Gift Of Time in just one sitting a week ago. I have been in a major book funk, and if you know me well, you’ll know that book hangovers do not happy often for me, I am always reading! Now that I’ve finish (*sniff sniff*) I miss these characters with everything that I have. This has been such a special series to me, and I can say without a doubt that Beth Flynn executed the perfect HEA for Ginny.

There was a lot less grit, angst, and drama this time around compared to the previous books. There was a much bigger focus on fate, feelings, and family in the finale. Yes, I cried, yes, my heart ached, yes, I laughed, yes, I loved, and yes, I believe Ginny’s destiny happened the way fate had always intended it to. And I think the thing I loved most was the family aspect. I’m obviously not going into any details, but for me, I found what I had wanted to know since book 1, and it was complete and utter perfection.

The final ride was everything I hoped for and so much more. Now, Mimi and Christian Bear spinoff, anyone?

image



NINE MINUTES #1 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

OUT OF TIME #2 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook

A GIFT OF TIME – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | US eBook



image

Beth Flynn is a fiction writer who lives and works in Sapphire, North Carolina, deep within the southern Blue Ridge Mountains. Raised in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, Beth and her husband, Jim, have spent the last 17 years in Sapphire, where they own a construction company. They have been married 31 years and have two daughters and two dogs. In her spare time, Beth enjoys writing, reading, gardening, church and motorcycles, especially taking rides on the back of her husband’s Harley. She is a five-year breast cancer survivor.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

