Review – BUNS by Alice Clayton

The third and hopefully not final book in the Hudson Valley series is out! Check out Archie Bryant’s BUNS! I mean…oh who am I kidding? Enjoy! 

image

The third in the hilarious yet sizzling hot Hudson Valley series from New York Time and USA TODAY bestselling author Alice Clayton.

Clara Morgan is living the dream, if you can call rebranding hotels that are desperate for a new life and running any kind of marathon a dream. Which she does. But the career she loves and the endurance races that keep her adrenaline pumping have kept her too busy to put down any roots. Growing up in foster care, she’s never been able to establish traditions of her own, which may be why she’s fascinated by the rituals that generations-old family resorts are known for. She’s especially interested in the Bryant Mountain House, and not just for their secret recipe for the yummy, gooey, can’t-get-enough-of Hot Cross Buns….

Archie Bryant, the man with the Buns, is fifth generation and one-day-owner of the charming yet run-down Bryant Mountain House in Bailey Falls, New York. He’s determined to save his family’s legacy from the wrecking ball the old-fashioned way—by gritting his teeth and doing what needs to be done. There’s no way Archie will be influenced by the new hotel branding expert his father brought in to turn one hundred and fifty years of tradition on its head just to attract a faster, younger, slicker crowd. But when some of Clara’s ideas start bringing in new, paying customers, Archie can’t deny that she may have just given him a shot at keeping his resort open.

It’s sticky, it’s messy, it’s sweet, it’s Buns.

image

It’s official: Alice Clayton books are my happy place. I feel like I’ve been waiting for this book for forever, but let me tell you, it was most definitely worth the wait. What a funny, fabulous, and generally fantastic book this was. I dove heart first into Archie and Clara’s story, barely pausing for breath as the group of characters I’ve come to know and love took me on another addictive and truly heartwarming Bailey Falls adventure. 

I was (and still am) completely obsessed with Nuts, and Cream Of The Crop (the first two books in this Hudson Valley series), so I was incredibly excited to have Buns sitting on my Kindle. I was desperate for more Archie and Clara after finishing book two, so I was over the moon when I first found out that the third book would follow them as Clara helps to turn Bryant House around, and not only was it everything I hoped it would be, it was more! 

For starters, I just love everything about both Clara and Archie (on their own and together); Clara is Clayton’s signature sassy and fabulous woman, and Archie is like a sexy, sometimes grumpy nerd. And he’s also about 10 years older than her (bonus points for the sexy older man appeal). I loved how stuck in his ways Archie was when it came to changing the hotel. He fought everything he didn’t agree on, and didn’t fall at her feet and offer her everything as soon as they started sleeping together, they still fought over the decisions which I thought was a great touch of authenticity.

I also loved, loved, loved the romance (and the sexy times before the romancing happened). I fell head over heals in love with Archie Bryant, though admittedly, Oscar still holds the majority share of my heart, Archie has himself a nice big chunk of it. And speaking of my tall, dark and sexy man, I loved seeing the rest of the Hudson Valley gang again! I could spend all my days with these guys, and I’m praying this isn’t the last we see of them. 

Simply put, this book is a must read!!

image

*ARC received in exchange for an honest review*



NUTS #1 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

CREAM #2 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback

Buns #3 – Out Now!
Goodreads | UK eBook | UK Paperback | US eBook | US Paperback



image

ALICE CLAYTON worked in the cosmetics industry for over a decade before picking up a pen (read laptop).

She enjoys gardening but not weeding, baking but not cleaning up, and finally convinced her long-time boyfriend to marry her.

Now, about that Bernese Mountain dog.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

image

Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Instagram

Leave a Reply

